Trying Something New

Check this out.

What’s that you say? Is that a red mummy? No, but thank you for asking.

When a teen asked me to make a Yarny for her, I almost passed up the challenge. What’s a Yarny? It is the main character of this video game.

What’s it made out of? Red yarn for the body and white yarn for the eyes. But a wire armature was needed to give it a shape. That was why I almost said no. I’m pretty much a novice when it comes to making wire armatures. But I had some needle nose pliers, wire, wire cutters, and the requisite colors of yarn. So, I was without an excuse to refuse.

I watched this video to see how to make it.

The armature took hours just to bend the wire (a time frame that video doesn’t show).

That’s a wrap!

Almost ready for my closeup

I hesitated to do this, because this kind of project was fairly new for me. Months ago, I’d bought wire, wire cutters, and needle nose pliers for another project, under the inspiration of another YouTube video. But I’d given up on that project early on, thinking it was too hard.

In this case, the fact that a teen asked me to do it made me rise to the challenge (especially since this was the second time she’d asked). I watched the above three-minute how-to video several times, and bent wire until my hands bled. And then I wised up and donned my winter gloves. Made working with wire a little easier.

So, my Yarny might not look like much to you. (It is a work in progress after all.) But to me, it represents the hurdle I had to jump: the fear of trying something new (which is basically the fear of failure—the lizard brain at work).

Now that this project is near completion, I feel silly for having been afraid. Maybe you’ve felt the same way about something. Sometimes fear comes, because we don’t have all of the facts. The video I watched on how to make Yarny didn’t present all of the facts, despite how inspiring it was. It didn’t explain the large amount of time it would take or the bleeding hands factor for novices.

But isn’t that what happens a lot of the time? We’re shown a quick, this-is-all-it-takes video, but not the actual cost of a project.

Sometimes we have this view of writing. Skilled authors make it seem easy. We watch them in interviews after their book was published and think, I could do that. What we don’t see are the days, months, and years of writing, rewriting, editing, crying, chocolate eating, rejection, chocolate eating, persevering, etc. It’s hard to fit all of those into a three-minute video.

Speaking of writing, as promised, I have book giveaway winners to reveal. I’m giving away books by Jill Weatherholt and Sheila Turnage. Go back to this post and this one if you are totally confused.

  

The winner of A Father for Bella by Jill Weatherholt is

Is

Is

Is

Is

Is

Gwen Plano!

The winner of the Mo & Dale Mysteries series by Sheila Turnage is

Is

Is

Is

Is

Ally Bean!

Please comment below to confirm. If you already have these books or wish to decline, please let me know, so that I can choose another winner. If you choose to accept what you won, please email me to let me know your street address or email if you prefer to receive an ebook.

Yarny wire skeleton image from playerattack.com.

41 thoughts on “Trying Something New

    • I also learn new thing, Jill. Like about this video game and Yarny. And how to work with wire! A hard lesson indeed! ✂️

  1. First thank you for the book, but I’ll graciously decline so that someone else may receive it. These are already in my TBR pile.

    I LOVE Yarny. I love that video with its quiet humor. I love the idea that I could make Yarny, but knowing my artistic limits, I gotta wonder if I could do it. So cute.

  2. Yarny represents bravery and chutzpah. Brava to you, L. Marie! I never heard of lizard brain. Thanks for the introduction; I can relate of course.

    On Saturday my grandson and I tried a new recipe which I’ll share on a future blog post. We had mixed results too. I may even link yours to this one.

    • Yay! I’m looking forward to reading that post, Marian! My nephew likes to experiment when he cooks. And yes the results are mixed. 😀

  3. Great post, Linda! I love the metaphor of making a Yarny to writing. I’ve always understood that writing is a long, slow process (at least for most people), but it’s really coming home for me now that I’m earnestly working on a novel 🙂

  4. Except for the wire manipulation, I think Yarny is a great new crafty trend! Did your teen like it enough for you to consider making more? I’ll bet beaders know a few wire tricks to eliminate the cuts and bruises.

    As for trying new things – I’m almost always up for that – however there are times when I’ve been known to stay in my rut! HA!

    Your Yarny adventure is my latest inspiration – thanks, L.Marie!

    • I haven’t given it to her yet, Laura. Her birthday is next month. But her mom seems to think that she will like him. 😀

      Honestly, I wouldn’t want to make another one anytime soon. I have too many things to crochet and too many project deadlines to meet. But I’m glad this experience inspires you!

  5. I love everything about this. I love that a teen asked you make a yarny because that teen knew you could, even if you didn’t. I love that you HAD all of the tools necessary — a sign from God, of course. I love Yarny him or herself — the video was entrancing! But most of all, I love your message and necessary reminder that I can’t compare my beginnings with someone else’s endings. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

    • Hi, Laura! Thank you! Yes, it was! I’m grateful that the message encouraged you, because I know that God was behind that. 😀 😀
      Write on!

  6. Your Yarny looks great! I l always love trying a new craft, even though the results rarely look the way they should. Knitting Pooh is the one that always stands out in my mind as a long-term horror story, but he turned out well in the end – after all those tears and chocolate binges you mentioned! And don’t you just love that feeling of accomplishment? 😀

    • Yes, I do, FF! And congrats on getting through Pooh. 😀 In fact, even now, why not reward yourself again for having survived that? And I’ll also have some chocolate as I think of what you accomplished. And then I’ll have some when I think of what I accomplished. 😀

  7. Yay for Gwen and Ally – congratulations on your win.

    On to the Yarny and your success at making one, as well as your commitment to do so for the young person. I love this post and your steadfastness at doing something new. Good for you, L. Marie.Your Yarny looks good, though I’m sure your fingers are still sore and your skin a bit scratched. I’ll have to bookmark Yarny for the grands. They will love it. Wait. Maybe I shouldn’t. Little miss will surely as ME to make one with her 🙂 !

    The first time I made a floral arrangement using florist foam I panicked. Really? It’s just foam, but, sticking real flowers in it? I played with it, made a mess, poked so many holes in the foam that I had to scrap the project and try again. Tada! Finally, I got it and have used foam in many arrangements every since – those wire cutters are sometimes employed. 🙂

    Great post and good way to start my day, L. Marie. Thanks.

    • Thanks, Penny. And having seen some of your beautiful floral arrangements, I’m glad you persisted to the point of the absolute beauty that you often showcase.

      I was thinking about your grandkids! But yes, they’ll probably want a Yarny, so you might avoid mentioning him! 😀

  8. Computers and blogs and Google maps and iTunes keep forcing me to learn new things. I don’t always go willingly, but after I’ve learned whatever it is, I’m glad. Thinking back to arts and crafts I’ve learned, I think I’ve always had someone to teach me: my Chinese brush painting teacher, Prof. Chen; my batik teacher, John; my girl scout leader; my mom. A teacher makes it much less frightening to try something new. And now we have You Tube videos to guide us along.

    • Your artwork is lovely, Nicki, so I’m glad you learned well. Yes, I’m grateful to YouTube. I’ve learned some odd things, like how to fight with a knife. I needed help with a scene I was writing at the time. 😀

Comments are closed.