Check This Out: Pipe Dreams

Many of you in the blogosphere are no strangers to Destiny Allison, whose eponymous blog is so encouraging to many. If you’re a newbie, feel free to stop right here and check out Destiny’s blog. We’ll wait.

Hi_SepiaFinal__3964

You’re back? Good. So you probably know that Destiny’s passion for encouraging the dreams of others isn’t just a pipe dream. (Har har.) Keep reading and you’ll find out why. First, give it up for Destiny, who is here today, and whose book Pipe Dreams is available right now, right here.

Pipe_Dreams_Front_Cover

Here’s a synopsis:

Beneath the park bench, a young girl cries for help, her voice a cold hand on Vanessa’s throat. “Please,” the girl whispers, a tear trickling down her battered face. The naked girl is desperate, but compassion for the Fallen is never forgiven. Vanessa’s hesitation is her undoing. Unbeknownst to her, Lewis is still haunted by her thick, auburn hair, serious eyes, and mocking laughter. She is the symbol of all he hates and her interaction with the girl is what he needs to gain control of the virus and exact his revenge.

As his plan unfolds, Vanessa is forced to flee. Escaping through the sewer, she finds love, heartbreak, and the red beam of a gun sight dancing on the slick, black wall. That’s when she learns Texas is real. Pipe Dreams is a dystopian novel set in the near future. If gene splicing could merge Margaret Atwood and Suzanne Collins, the resulting author might write this book.

El Space: Four quick facts about yourself?
Destiny: 1. I’ve been a professional sculptor, fabricating in steel, for the last 20 years and am transitioning to my first love (writing) because of an injury. 2. My husband and I have six kids between us. 3. I’m pretty deaf, but prefer to read lips instead of wear hearing aids, though I’m not sure how long that will last. I have a tendency to make things up when I don’t understand what people are saying, and that sometimes gets me into trouble, or, at the very least, is cause for side-splitting laughter. 4. There is nothing I love better than walking in the woods with my dogs and my love.

El Space: You are amazing. So, is Pipe Dreams a stand-alone or a series?
Destiny: I have planned it as a series, and book two is already plotted. I’m so excited to start writing it.

El Space: What were the attractions of writing dystopian fiction? How has your experience prepared you to write this novel?
Destiny: I fell in love with dystopia after reading Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale in my teens.

38447

Since then, I’ve read all the classics, and it continues to be one of my favorite genres. I think dystopia is a natural for me, because it is a wonderful way to talk about real societal issues and explore human nature. I’m a closet student of philosophy, and have always been fascinated by people’s motivations and by the way history tends to repeat itself because of innate human traits.

In Pipe Dreams, I didn’t have just one main character. Each of the major players is reacting to a specific situation from their own perspective. Much like in life, truth is a matter of perspective. It is their collective pursuit of often conflicting dreams that creates societal change. I think the same is true about most things. We may not all get what we want, but if we don’t stay true and hold onto our dreams, everything stays the same. We need each other to move us forward.

El Space: What dystopian novels have you read recently that you found inspiring?
Destiny: I’m currently reading Wool and I’m loving it. Hugh Howey has a wonderful voice, and his descriptions are fabulous. I love the way he also explores human nature and reveals that what is on the surface is seldom the truth.

17164655

El Space: What do you hope readers will take away by the end of Pipe Dreams?
Destiny: That everyone has a dream and that no matter how far-fetched it is, they have to hold onto it and do what they can to make it come true. Our dreams are what drive our evolution as a society.

El Space: What would you stockpile if the reality of your novel became the reality today? Why?
Destiny: Antibiotics. People are pretty smart and can learn to hunt, gather, etc., but the ability to fight bacteria—especially in an urban setting where natural medicinals are scarce—is a constant challenge.

medicine_pills

El Space: You mentioned that you want to donate part of your proceeds toward helping writers. What inspired you to do so?
Destiny: Twenty-five percent of the sales of this book will go to help other authors/artists achieve their dreams. I was really lucky when I first started out and several people gave me the help I needed to take my art to a professional level and help me make a living from it. I’m in a position now to do the same, and I believe in paying it forward.

El Space: That’s wonderful, Destiny. So, what advice do you have for writers about to tackle a dystopian?
Destiny: Create a believable world. When things don’t make sense, it pulls readers out of the story. Really think through how/why your world could happen, then pay attention to human nature. Be honest and real in the emotions your characters would experience.

My heroine, Vanessa, is traumatized. As such, she isn’t particularly stable. Anything can set her off. If she had experienced the trauma she did and didn’t display the erratic behavior she does, not only would readers not believe in her, they wouldn’t be able to identify with her or root for her.

Thanks, Destiny, for hanging out with me on the blog today. I’ve enjoyed our discussion.

And thanks to all who stopped by. Look for Pipe Dreams at Amazon here. If you have questions for Destiny, please comment below.

Medicine image from themedicalguru.com. Book covers from Goodreads.com.

19 thoughts on “Check This Out: Pipe Dreams

  1. I can’t wait to read this book. Well, I can because I have to, but I’m very excited. I have trouble with a lot of Dystopian fiction where the author seemed to start from a “hey, know what would be cool?” concept but never made the background of how we got there from here at all believable. I get the impression that this book will be much more satisfying in that area, and I’m very curious about the characters and story.

    I really need a Kindle… 🙂

    • I know what you mean, Kate. We’ve had this discussion on your blog. World building is so difficult. And if we don’t understand how we got from point A to B, we’ll ask keep asking questions, and thereby refuse to suspend disbelief.

    • Hi Kate, I totally agree with you. There has to be some background. In the end, I settled for a 1 page prologue to give you a sense of what happened before readers got immersed in the story. Hope you have an opportunity to read it and I hear you on the kindle. Finally got mine last week.

      • I succumbed recently too. Was always vocal about my preference for books, how you can’t beat the feel of holding a book in your hands in comparison.
        But unless I have a windfall to buy a bigger house or at least build an extension to house my ever growing collection, I am on the Kindle bandwagon.

Your Turn to Talk

