The Perfect Bathroom Reading

toiletI don’t know about you, but I like to have a selection of reading materials in the bathroom. That’s probably more information than you wanted to know about me, but I’m telling you anyway. I keep a stack of Entertainment Weekly and Game Informer magazines there. (Probably time to weed out some of those.) But my latest discovery is a Star Trek: The Next Generation graphic novel. Its episodic format makes it the perfect bathroom reading. I couldn’t be happier.

Now with a post like this, I run the risk of someone taking my words out of context and mistakenly believing that I equate the content with the . . . er . . . occupation. Nope. What I am saying is a certain kind of reading is relaxing enough to warrant a spot in my bathroom. I think of it as comfort reading. Like comfort food. You just crave it.

So, what doesn’t make good bathroom reading, at least for me? Ignore what you see in the picture above. Longer, print novels or nonfiction books don’t work for me. I get too caught up in the story . . . or not sometimes.

If you’ve read this blog before, by now you might be thinking this is an analogy about writing. I’ll finally get to the meat of the post right about now. We should strive for the literary equivalent of comfort food—right??? Write what’s comfortable or comforting? That’s what I really mean, right?

I would never presume to tell you what to do. (Though, you should floss regularly.) I’m just saying this isn’t an elaborate analogy. This is just a post about the perfect bathroom reading. Now, isn’t this time well spent?

Gotta go. Thankfully, I have an Entertainment Weekly waiting. . . .

What constitutes the perfect bathroom reading for you?
Take this poll or comment below (or both).

Toilet photo from viewgoods.com.

38 thoughts on “The Perfect Bathroom Reading

  1. LOL, what a great post, L. Marie! Since you asked I have weekly newsmagazine and catalogs for the seat, and bring in a novel for bath time. 🙂

  2. This is hilarious, L. Marie! That photo cracked me up! 🙂 I try to switch it up with my bathroom reading. For the tub, it’s always a novel, even though, like you, I’ve dropped a few into the water.

  3. I dropped a book in the bath too. Ruined it-it’s all warped and bent and out of shape now. (Yep-still not got rid of it).

  4. We always had National Geographic and Australian Geographic magazines in the bathroom. You could just flip through and look at the pictures if it was a, um, shorter visit, but there was plenty to read for longer ones, too.

    • I also used to have a subscription to National Geographic. If I still had it, I would definitely add it to the stack in the bathroom. Reader’s Digest also was a bathroom keeper.

  5. Okay, this is not what I expected to see in my reader. Yes, I’ve been out of the loop for a few days, but LOL! I love your blog! I love your serious but humorous take on life! You are so cool!

  6. Confession: I will read anything in the bathroom. ANYTHING. I have to be reading. I’ll read the backs of shampoo bottles if that’s all that’s available.

    My preference is magazines for the can (lingering too long on the loo can cause injuries, so novels are dangerous), novels for the tub. My husband says I’m crazy for taking my kobo into the tub, but do far, so good… 🙂

  7. Pingback: A Writer’s Process (9) | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  8. lol I don’t read in the bathroom. I’m more of a in and out as quickly as possible type of person. However if I must absolutely pick one I think it will be a magazine.

  9. Pingback: blogger spotlight | When I Became an Author

  10. Pingback: Confessions of a Bathroom Reader – Elizabeth Marro's Blog

  11. Pingback: Writing with Abandon | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  12. Pingback: Confessions of a Bathroom Reader | Elizabeth Marro

  13. Pingback: More of the Perfect Bathroom Reading | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

Comments are closed.