Writing with Abandon

I’ll reveal the winner of Like Water on Stone by the amazing Dana Walrath in just a minute. But first . . .

greg_berlanti_headhotToday, I finished reading an article by Tim Stack in Entertainment Weekly (Dec. 5 issue). The subject: Greg Berlanti, the co-creator of The Flash and Arrow, hit shows for the CW. I could mention how an article like that is the perfect bathroom reading, but I wrote a post on that subject before. So I won’t go there now. (You get it? Go there? Okay, I hear you. Some puns shouldn’t exist.) Anyway, Greg is not only involved with the above mentioned shows, he has another hit show on NBC (The Mysteries of Laura) and is developing a show about Supergirl for CBS. If that’s not enough, he’ll be the head writer for the next Oscars broadcast. And that’s not all. The guy has a long list of projects for which he’s either a writer, co-creator, or executive producer. Just reading the article exhausted me. But after reading it, I realized that Berlanti exemplified what I’d discussed in my previous post—writing with abandon. Thanks, Greg!

The following quote struck me:

Berlanti has been a huge comic-book fan since he was young, and seeing him at work is like watching a kid play with his favorite superhero toys. . .except these action figures will be life-size when production starts. (44)

Love for what he’s doing seems to be the key to Berlanti’s quantity of projects. (That and opportunity.) Another plus in Berlanti’s favor is a testimonial from Chris Pratt, who was part of the cast of one of Berlanti’s past shows, Everwood: “He’s capable of showing real heart without being melodramatic.”

Passion. Real heart without melodrama. Sounds like a winning combination, doesn’t it? Wouldn’t we all like to achieve that balance? It takes a delicate touch.

008

Jordie hopes that someday a television show is developed about him. He has a cape ready just in case. He’s sure that his story has real heart, and not an ounce of melodrama.

009

His first order of business: mopping the floor with his arch-nemesis: Hello Kitty (code name: HK). Don’t let the cupcake and the bow fool you. She’s wanted in fourteen states for being a supervillain. Coincidentally, she has seen her favorite movie, Megamind, fourteen times. Be afraid.

Megamind

Getting back to Greg Berlanti, whatever he’s doing seems to be working, judging by the many viewers his shows have earned. I’ve been meaning to watch The Flash and Arrow. Have you seen them? I’ll get around to them at some point. But for now, my time would be better spent doing what I’m passionate about: weaving works of a high fantasy nature and crocheting whimsical hats. As I’ve mentioned before, I need to make several hats like this in the coming weeks.

018

Unlike HK above, this hat has no desire to take over the world. . . .  At least not that I know of. Be afraid.

And speaking of someone who writes with abandon, let’s get to the winner of Like Water on Stone by the multitalented Dana Walrath. (See interview here and here.)

                     dana_walrath 9780385743976

The winner is . . . (drumroll, please) . . .

cute-cat-gifs-28

Is . . .

Is . . .

Is . . .

Jill Weatherholt!

Jill Weatherholt, come on down! Please comment below to confirm. Thank you to all others who commented.

Stack, Tim. “The Man Behind the Masks.” Entertainment Weekly. 5 Dec. 2014: 42-46. Print.

Drumroll gif from cutenessoverflow.com. Greg Berlanti from hollywoodreporter.com.

31 thoughts on “Writing with Abandon

  1. Congratulations Jill.
    I’m starting to get a little nervous-I have Hello Kitties all over the house. Her and a certain snowman from from Frozen. (Can I just point out-I do have kids. Honest.)

    • C’mon, Andy. Admit you love Olaf. Go on. You’ll feel better.
      If I were you, I wouldn’t let Hello Kitty talk to Olaf. She might try to sway him toward the dark side. Be sure to keep them apart. I’ve got my eye on the one sitting on my computer desk. She won’t sway me!

  2. Passion seems to be a running theme in every successful endeavour, as does authenticity. Your post pretty much echoes two non fiction I read recently, both saying that no matter what you do, you need to be passionate about why you do it, and be authentic.

    Also that owl hat is so cute! The world needs more of those 🙂

    • Thank you. I’m trying to do my part to fill the world with owl hats.
      I agree that a certain amount of gusto is needed no matter what. That takes energy. And I know mustering energy can be difficult if one dislikes one’s job.

  3. Funny how you see so many articles about following your passion, but it’s such a rare event. I guess that’s why it ends up being news. We tend to be more passionate about our hobbies than our work, so it’s difficult to combine the two. Then again, I’ve never met anyone who was in love with office work and that’s my go to thought for humdrum existence. Ever wonder what the world would be like if everyone was encouraged to follow their dreams?

    • It is rare. Many times we have to slog through those jobs we’re not passionate about in order to finally give ourselves permission to do what we’re passionate about. For some Hollywood types, opportunities are handed to them. That’s what the article mentioned also.

      I was a proofreader for years. I was not passionate about it, but it was a necessary job. It also led to other editorial work–work I was more passionate about.

  4. Wow! This is exciting…just like The Price is Right! Thank you so much, L. Marie! I agree real heart without melodrama is something we should all strive for in our life. Oh my gosh, I can’t stop laughing at the cat playing with the box!!!!! Your owl hat is so adorable! You should be selling those online.

    • Congratulations! I’ll get that book out to you, Jill.
      When I saw that gif, I couldn’t resist. It cracked me up.

      I enjoy making the hats. I feel relaxed when I crochet. If I had to sell them, I’d have to be way more anal about very stitch. This way, I can relax and just do it for fun. 🙂

  5. I forgot to tell you……..my mother-in-law went through a spate where she knitted scarves. I was the beneficiary of several. Because our climate is almost never scarf-friendly, I finally had MTM tell her I loved the scarves, but I needed socks more.

    The last scarf she made for me was a brown cable knit. I sewed your crocheted flowers on it and wore it to Rotary a couple of weeks ago. They made me so happy!! The perfect addition to my scarf.

    End of digression.

    I always marvel at people who can produce so much quality. I’ve got three works-in-process right now, and I love working them. But I wish these wunderkinds would tell me how they compartmentalize. They’re doing it all. No question. I have such a hard time going from full-on-marketing-networking-selling-out-there brain to quiet-creative-contemplative-critical-writing brain.

    • Yay!!! I’m glad the flowers found such a good home. I’m sure they’re happiest on a scarf.
      I have a hard time working on more than one written work at a time, unless they are totally unrelated–a fiction book and math curriculum. I would have a hard time working on three television shows like that. I’d have a hard time keeping track of who is who.

      I have a hard time with marketing. I couldn’t even sell Girl Scout cookies!!! I think you do a good job of getting the word out about your books.

  6. Congratulations, Jill!

    So, this post made me laugh several times, even while it inspired me. You rock! And the owl hat is adorable. I think Jordie should have his own television show.

  7. Congratulations to Jill.

    I’ve watched a few episodes of “The Mysteries of Laura” and saved the rest. I like it.

    Writing with abandon. I’ll have to remember that. It’s an inspiring phrase. I need to write that way more often.

  8. Hello, my dear Linda! You are too funny with Jordie & Kitty! They both rock and I love that they are characters in your blog. 🙂

    “Passion. Real heart without melodrama” = YUP! That sounds pretty wonderful to me. I’ll have what he’s having.

    Congrats to the awesome Jill on her prize. She sure is a winner. You have a wonderful weekend, Linda!

Your Turn to Talk

