Leapin’ Liebster!

LIEBSTER-BLOG-AWARDWhen I began blogging (not long ago), I had no idea if anyone but my family, friends, and strangers I goaded into reading my blog (“Please. Just read it at least once and I’ll leave you alone. I promise”) would actually read the posts. So when I set out on this journey, I little imagined that I would ever be nominated for an award! But Kristen Mazzola (kind-hearted person that she is) at Kristen Mazzola: Everyone has a story; this is mine nominated me for the Liebster Award. If you haven’t seen her blog and read her wonderful poetry and prose, please stop right now and do so by clicking on her name or blog name.

This nomination, I understand, comes with stipulations. I’m following them, but anyone I nominate is under no obligation to accept. Sometimes just knowing you were nominated is lovely enough, right? That’s what the Academy Award nominees always say, anyway.

Here are the rules:
First is to accept the award, post the picture of the Liebster Award on the top of post and say who nominated you for the award and list their blog site.
Rule number 1 is to list 11 random facts about me.
Rule number 2 is to nominate 11 other bloggers for the Liebster Award and list their blog sites.
Rule number 3 is to notify the bloggers of their award.
Rule number 4 is to ask the award winners 11 questions to answer when they accept their Liebster Award.
Rule number 5 is you don’t talk about the Liebster Award.
Rule number 6 you realize I just made up rule number 5 and 6 to be funny and you hopefully get the reference and laugh.
Rule number 7 is I answer the questions left for me by the blogger who gave me the award.

Eleven Random Facts
1. I once received three speeding tickets in one year. Good times!
2. I’m right handed, but I try to use my left hand also. I’m weird that way.
3. I spent part of a summer teaching middle grade kids in China.
4. I met Sharon Creech and Maggie Stiefvater on the same day and just about died of giddiness.
5. I once climbed a waterfall in Ocho Rios.
6. I’m very inept at tennis.
7. I sat and watched the first season of Heroes for six straight hours.
8. I sometimes wear socks that don’t match. Hey, whatever I can grab in a hurry.
9. I once put over 80,000 miles on my car in one year.
10. When I see a male cardinal (bird), my heart swells.
11. My favorite set of movie soundtracks: Lord of the Rings

Here are the questions I was asked by Kristen, along with my answers:
1. What without fail always makes you laugh?
The movie Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and the movie title The Boogens—a movie that I think only about three people in the world saw. Even I didn’t see it. But my younger brother and a good friend of his saw it, and told me the whole plot.
2. What is your favorite adaptation of a book to a movie?
Lord of the Rings
3. Why did you start your blog?
My younger brother kept after me about starting one and a guy at church shamed me for not having one.
4. What moment did you realize you enjoyed your job or that you were good at your job?
Ha ha! I’m still waiting for the moment where I actually think I’m good at what I do. But I wake up every morning thinking, I can’t believe I sometimes get paid to do what I enjoy.
5. Do you have any poem committed to memory? If so, what is it?
Ha ha! Sadly no, other than the first stanza of “Jabberwocky” by Lewis Carroll. Let me see if I can write it here without cheating and looking up the words on the Internet (and I have no idea whether the following words are spelled correctly):

Twas brillig and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe
All mimsy were the borogoves
And the momeraths outgrabe

6. What song defines your life?
“We Are the Champions”
7. What is your first memory?
I was sitting at the kitchen table facing my father, who wore a white shirt and a dark tie. I assume we were eating dinner. I don’t quite remember what was happening, but I know I was about three, because we weren’t living in the house in which I grew up. We moved to that house when I was three.
8. What color comes to mind right now?
Red. It’s my favorite color.
9. Do you think that we all have a bigger purpose? If so, what do you think yours is?
Well, I can’t speak for all, but my purpose is to use the gifts God gave me and honor him with my life. The way I do that is to write and encourage others through my writing.
10. What time of day do you like to write?
Morning, afternoon, and evening
11. Are you happy right now?
Sometimes, yes. Basically, I’m content.

Those to whom I am passing on this award are wonderful, versatile writers dedicated to their craft. Their words inspire me. In no particular order, they are
http://meatandpotatoesoflife.wordpress.com/
http://www.lynmillerlachmann.com/blog/
http://cityjackdaw.wordpress.com/
http://lindaktaylor.wordpress.com/
http://lauriemorrison.wordpress.com/
http://shawnalenore.wordpress.com/
http://skvanzandt.wordpress.com/
http://labyrneblog.wordpress.com/
http://bmoreenergy.wordpress.com/
http://disregardtheprologue.wordpress.com/
http://laurasibson.com/

Here are my questions for my nominees:
1. What is one thing you want to do to help change the world?
2. What is your favorite adaptation of a book to a movie?
3. Why did you start your blog?
4. When did you first discover that you wanted to write?
5. Most inspiring outdoor place? Why?
6. Do you have a life slogan? If so, what is it?
7. Name one person who has influenced the way you see life right now. Why?
8. Who is one of your favorite authors? Why?
9. One piece of advice you would give to a middle schooler or an older teen is . . .
10. A goal you have now is to . . .
11. A favorite statement a family member or friend has said to you recently about your writing is . . .

12 thoughts on “Leapin’ Liebster!

  1. Personally, I think wearing the same socks is akin to communism and therefore always throw one of them away upon purchase…no not really but I don’t have a light in my bedroom (I know, weird) so I never end up grabbing the same pair either. Hahah interesting tidbits!

    • My dryer probably feels the same way you do, since I can never get more than one sock back!! Wow, no light, huh? Interesting!!! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Pingback: THANKS FOR THE NOMINATION! :) | Metamorphosis of Letters

  3. Thank you for the award citation! I will comply with at least part of it soon. I just turned in my final project in my Portuguese class, and the short story ended up being 16 pages long. But it was fun and I think it has legs.

    • Oh, Lyn! So like my short stories! My last one was 40 pages long. Glad you got that project done! I know you’re busy. Your books is coming out very soon. I preordered.

  4. Pingback: Slow Your Roll | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  5. Pingback: Loving the Liebster Award | Bmore energy

Comments are closed.