I’d Like to Thank My Parents . . .

bdaycupcake

. . . for making this day possible. 🙂 And as Marie Antoinette was rumored to say (but really didn’t), “Let them eat cake.” Before I go and do just that (actually, work first, then cake—that’s the schedule), I’ll leave you with time-tested advice:

• Go for the gold.
• The only limits you have are the ones you put on yourself.
• Reach for the sky.

Everyone tells you to dream big. Parents. Guidance counselors. Athletic equipment stores. Strangers on the street. Today, why not go ahead and do that?

I know what you’re thinking: How can I do that? Have you seen my WIP lately???

Listen to Auntie L. There are some days when I feel in about as much control as a Yoda hand puppet. Writing is a floppy, frisky, untamed thing. And yes, some days, I can’t get my sentences neatly corralled. (“Yahhhh. Git along little dogies!”) So I’m tempted to give up and play Pokémon or Harvest Moon. But if I give up, that leaves my sentences wandering around aimlessly, still wild and free. I can’t keep doing that to them. So, I’m going to work past the temptation to give up.

What about you? Are you with me?

17 thoughts on “I’d Like to Thank My Parents . . .

      • If posting a YouTube video of a cat in a shark suit riding a roomba like a boss is inspired, then yes!

        (Actually, inspiration for a Writing post did strike when the little guy and I were re-potting plants, but that won’t show up for a while yet.) 🙂

      • Kate, I thought that video was adorable! There’s something so soothing about watching a cat in a shark costume riding a roomba.

  1. Linda, as always, your positive, hopeful words inspire me and make me smile (you’re seriously funny)! I’m so glad I know you. Happy Birthday!!!

  2. To quote my brilliant roommate, if I could just keep a bottle of Linda on my desk, I’d open it every day so that she could be with me through all things. Happy day to you, Linda, and happy day to me…to have you on my desk, at least in your words.

    xoxox,
    Laura

  3. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

Your Turn to Talk

