My Idea of a Bedtime Book

I was reading this fantasy novel the other day,

when I thought about the types of stories I usually read at bedtime (besides picture books, which were the subject of a previous post). As good as Mistborn is—and it is very good—I don’t read it at bedtime. It has too much adrenaline-producing action, at least for me. This is not to say that this book just has action and little character building. It has well-developed characters and a well-developed world. But when I read it, I feel the tension. Here’s the plot synopsis on the back.

You might not have the same reaction. I realize everyone is different. Case in point: I have friends who can drink coffee late at night and still fall asleep. I have to stop the caffeine before six p.m. or I’ll be up most of the night.

I also need a good two hours to unwind before bedtime. That means low-maintenance stories like these. That’s right. Fairy tale books.

   

“Now, wait a minute!” I hear you saying. “Some fairy tales have violent action, don’t they? People getting shut up in barrels and thrown out to sea or being forced to dance in red-hot iron shoes.” 😬

True. But my parents read fairy tales to me before bedtime when I was a small child. I used to have picture books with some of the Grimm brothers’ compiled fairy tales. So I naturally think of fairy tales as prime bedtime reading. Besides, I have Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales. There are hundreds of stories in one volume. I’m sure I usually find one or two to read before bedtime that don’t involve a grisly death. 😉

This goes for movies and shows too. I can’t watch action or angsty shows or movies anytime near that two-hour unwind period. Cooking shows, like the pro chef versus home cook episodes on Epicurious’s YouTube channel are ideal. Though I would never cook using the ingredients the pro chefs flaunt, I find these shows so relaxing. Click here to see one of them.

What, if anything, do you read or watch late at night without any detriment to your sleep? While you consider that, Marie Bailey, I’ve got some bedtime reading for you. You will soon receive a copy of Lyn’s verse novel, Eyes Open! Please comment below to confirm.

    

Author and book photo courtesy of Lyn Miller-Lachmann. Other photos by L. Marie.

27 thoughts on “My Idea of a Bedtime Book

  1. I’m more like you than Charles when it comes to unwinding mentally before bedtime. Nothing scary or adrenaline producing for me either. Something benign like Guideposts for me as a prelude to sleep. Or maybe an article from this week’s The New Yorker. Incidentally, I stay away from intentional caffeine intake after breakfast. Ha!

    Thanks for the link to Epicurious. I don’t have time to finish the episode, but I can easily find it in my “history.” Have a great weekend, L. Marie.

  2. I’m like you – there some books i just can’t read before going to bed. it is why my nightly read always consists of two books – one that is a bit more intense/requires more concentration and the other a bit lighter (though still has to have story/plot).

  3. L.Marie: Nothing like the comfort of the Brothers Grimm – HA! I’m thinking the bedtime connection is definitely related to those tales being read to you by your precious parents during your childhood…that is a comfort indeed.

    As for myself? Sometimes I approach bedtime with great anticipation to settle in with the novel I’m currently engrossed in and read for hours. Other times, I crawl into bed with a favorite comfort book (“Bachelor Brother’s Bed & Breakfast” or “The Shell Seekers” or “The Wind in the Willows” – you get the idea) hoping to ease me into sleepyland. 🙂

    Sweet blessings to you as you remember your Dad on this hard but special Father’s Day.
    hugs

  4. I watch a TV show that makes me smile. I know it’s old and so irrelevant to today’s world, but that’s what I like about it. I don’t have to think about today’s world when I watch. I also tend to read my critique group’s submissions. They usually have fun fantasies. Except one of them is recently writing dark fantasy, so I skip hers at night.

    I understand wanting to read those childhood fairy tales before bed. It’s comforting. Have a nice weekend, Linda. Stay cool. 🥵

  5. Your mention of your parents reading to you reminded me of my dad. He used to tell me bedtime stories about giants, flying saucers, etc. He told my mom he never knew what was going to happen until he sat beside my bed and started talking. I guess the stories weren’t too scary or maybe I learned to tolerate them at a young age because I never had any trouble falling asleep.

    I do like to keep going on a book I’ve started, so I do sometimes end up reading something unpleasant in bed. I doesn’t keep me awake, but I’d rather think good thoughts before sleeping.

  6. I watch about an hour of TV before bedtime, then lay in bed and sometimes listen to podcasts or music. I slowly ease into sleep and for me reading anything keeps me too awake, so I don’t do it.

    • Ally, good idea on the podcasts. Some voices are very soothing. Usually those involved want to be there and are happy to have a discussion. That helps me to relax and listen.

  7. I never voluntarily watch or read anything too scary, gruesome, or graphic because the images stay with me and gross me out.

    No torture scenes. No extreme violence. No animal abuse. Not in the morning, the afternoon, the evening, and certainly not at bedtime.

    What we put into our minds may haunt those hallowed halls forever.  I choose to jealously guard the entrance to mine.

  8. OMG … thank you, L. Marie! I’m so excited to be getting a copy of Lyn’s new book! As for bedtime reading, I should do more of it … although the last couple of times I tried, I couldn’t keep my eyes open 😉 I’m hooked on audiobooks, though, and will often plug in and listen to a chapter or two before going to sleep. Well, I usually fall asleep while listening … lol.

  9. Caffeine keeps me awake too – but not for the reason you think. Caffeine goes right through me so I’m constantly waking for the toilet!

Your Turn to Talk