The Year in Review—2016

img_4063  img_4065

img_4067   img_4070

For some years, there are no words.

Perhaps you can relate. Twenty-sixteen definitely has had its ups and downs with project losses and gains, illness in the family, graduations, etc. And at the end of the year, I find myself striving to write anything. This wordless state is a bit scary for me. I’d love to be in a fulsome state of writing right now. But some things can’t be forced, I guess.

One Christmas gift that inspires me is this (click on Christmas gift to find out more about this book):

img_4074

And this tea is insanely good!

img_4073

Early in the new year, I’ll do a giveaway of Christmas gift inspirations like the ones above. In the meantime, I hope 2017 is good to you. What are your hopes for the coming year?

img_4071

My new Jane Austen quote journal. We will spend lots of time together in the new year.

Barbie Made to Move™ photos and other photos by L. Marie.

46 thoughts on “The Year in Review—2016

  1. What you say about a year is more true yet for a life. We memorize only some events such as the meerschaum .
    Enjoy your precious gifts, Linda , and go ahead for the new year for a lot of books reviews, meet with authors and poems .
    Love ❤
    Michel

    • It is soooooo good, Jill! Someone had given me one bag in a Christmas box. So yummy. I had to search for it online!

      Happy New Year to you. I’m hoping you’ll announce some new book deals in the works. 🙂

  2. Oooo – tea sounds sensational.
    I’m hoping for a calmer, more reasonable and responsible, 2017 – and one with good health and well being. Here’s to the best 2017 has to offer for you, L. Marie, and much thanks for your amazing blog.

  3. Here’s my favorite Jane Austen quote:

    “There is a stubbornness about me that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.”
    ~ Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice, ch. 31

    As for 2017 . . . I hope for happiness for me and everyone else.

    • That’s a good one, Nancy. Elizabeth is so quotable.

      My favorite quote comes from Persuasion. Anne Elliot is speaking to Captain Harville:

      “All the privilege I claim for my own sex (it is not an enviable one, you need not covet it), is that of loving longest, when existence or when hope is gone.”

      That may not make sense to anyone who has not read the book. But I resonate with that quote, because, I’ve been in Anne’s shoes.

  4. Oh, you got some cool gifts! You know, it’s okay to be wordless for awhile. I don’t doubt that you’ll be filling up that Jane Austen journal soon, though (if you haven’t already started).
    Happy New Year, Linda. I don’t make resolutions. I only hope for peace, love, and happiness.

  5. Hoping you have a less eventful year in 1017, or that all your events turn out to be good ones! You’ll get back into writing mode soon, I’m sure. 🙂

    Happy New Year to you, L. Marie. Have a good one!

  6. Happy New Year, L. Marie! I’m still sifting through possibilities for New Year’s resolutions, but given my record of fulfilling them (for instance, 2015’s resolution was to win the lottery, and I never bought a single ticket), I don’t know.

  7. I’ve had family visiting from Dec. 17 until Jan. 1–which has been wonderful! The only thing is, my constant asthma and the fatigue that goes along with it has made it hard to be fully present and to participate in all the things we would like to do. So my hope for 2017 is that I can improve my health. This also involves some resolutions–frequent breathing exercises, daily physical exercise, and a strict adherence to a diet that excludes dairy, wheat, eggs, caffeine, and, most of all, sugar. Of course, I do hope 2017 will be a productive year for writing as well. We’ll see. As for the country, the world, and you, dear Linda, I’ll keep you all in my prayers. Happy New Year and may inspiration fall upon you.

    By the way, I’ll be putting up a guest post on my blog soon that I think will interest you. It’s by John Kang who writes fantasy.

  8. Like I said to our mutual poet, Andrew Murray, I’m kindof struggling with leaving 2016 behind…stranger still because I sense a refreshing change in the air with the dawning of the new year.
    Life’s full of dichotomies, eh? 😀
    Much happiness to you in 2017, L. Marie.

  9. Pingback: First Post of 2017! | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

Your Turn to Talk

