Tiny Treasures—Blogoversary Time!

004Ever have one of those weeks when you almost forget your own name? Last week was a really busy week for me, which culminated in a jury summons. So on February 19, I was taken aback when WordPress sent me this note:

anniversary-2x Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com!
You registered on WordPress.com 3 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!

Thanks, WordPress! I had totally forgotten my blogoversary!

You might wonder about the post title—“Tiny Treasures.” Don’t let the photo at the beginning of the post fool you. The kitty in the teapot is less than two inches tall. This is a tiny treasure—one of the Littlest Pet Shop blind bag pets. (Um, I can totally see you yawning or fidgeting. There is a method to this madness. Really.)

When I was a little kid, I loved to collect tiny things. This was one of the reasons also why I loved to visit the Colleen Moore Fairy Castle at the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago. It’s filled with miniature furniture!

Colleen Moore Fairy Castle @ the Museum of Science and Industry

Colleen Moore Fairy Castle @ the Museum of Science and Industry

One Christmas I was given a box of 100 small, pink plastic ballet dancers. I played with them for hours. I’m glad I found a picture of them on the internet, since I no longer have the set. Some internet wag referred to these as the girl version of those little green Army men.

plastic-army-men-for-girls

These days I still collect tiny treasures, but mostly in book form. (Okay, yes, I have a few Shopkins and characters from series like My Little Pony and the Littlest Pet Shop. I also have a small throwing knife and like to crochet tiny envelopes. Eclectic is my middle name.)

008  012

004

I love fantasy and science fiction books. I realize these types of books are not everyone’s cup of tea. But to celebrate my blogoversary, I’d like to give away a tiny treasure—a book under 200 pages in length—to a commenter. Normally I love a long book. But some books pack a punch in a short amount of time. I chose two that have inspired me over the years. They’re oldies but goodies.

674749   13642

Why these books? Well, The Ordinary Princess represents everything I love about fairy tales. And I love the way Le Guin explores the different cultures in her tightly written classic, A Wizard of Earthsea.

Comment below to let me know which book you would like to receive if your name is chosen. (Do not be alarmed. I am not giving away my old, beat-up copies of these books.) It’s okay if the answer is “neither,” and you just wish to comment without participating in my book giveaway. Just know that I appreciate the fact that you found your way to my little corner of the internet. 🙂 You deserve some cake for that. Feel free to take a huge bite.

cake-hi

I’ve enjoyed writing this blog. Still, I never imagined I’d reach a third year! Thanks for putting up with me over the years.

What tiny treasures, if any, do you collect?

015  023

Book covers from Goodreads. Plastic dancers from onemoregadget.com. Cake from clker.com. Fairy castle from msichicago.org.

52 thoughts on “Tiny Treasures—Blogoversary Time!

  1. Happy Anniversary! This reminds me that mine is due, as I know our blogging adventures began more or less in tandem. I haven’t really got any tiny treasures-my collections are more larger (much to my wife’s chagrin) like books and Hammer movies. Oh, and Doctor Who DVDs. That is how I ended up with a kindle-it was Jen’s last desperate attempt to consolidate what little space we had left 🙂
    My answer to your giveaway is ‘neither’, as I have been lucky enough to win several books in our conversations here, I think it right to shorten the odds for others 🙂

    • Yes, I was thinking that your blogoversary and mine were around the same time. 🙂
      I also have some Doctor Who DVDs. They take up a lot of space! But I don’t mind. 🙂

  2. I still collect soft toys, and I`m proud of it. lol I also used to collect comics but way to pricey at the moment. I got a good bobble head collection going with Spike, (Buffy), Bill Compton (True Blood),, Charlie, (Supernatural) and Crowley (Supernatural). I have my old copy of Wizard Of Earthsea and still read it, wonderful book. I have never read the Ordinary Princess so that`s my choice if I`m lucky enough to win. Thank you.

  3. I was a comic book collector in high school, so I didn’t really get into small things. Funny thing is I never realized how short Wizard of Earthsea was until this post. I grabbed a copy long ago at a book fair and enjoyed the read, but never paid attention to the length. Should probably find the rest of the series at some point.

    • I read the whole thing. Some people complained bout Tehanu, since it is a very different book from the original trilogy. I didn’t hear any complaints about Tales from Earthsea or The Other Wind though.

      I also collected comic books back in the day. I still have many of them. 🙂

      • I still have my collection. Not easy to get to them because the boxes are crammed into the closet. Best to keep them hidden from the kid until he’s old enough to read without destroying. Are the other Earthsea books short?

      • Yes, they’re all fairly short. Tehanu is about the longest. It’s around 280+ pages. Tales from Earthsea (at least the paperback version I have) is around 270+. None of them is 300 pages long.

  4. How’s about coins? Dad would empty his pockets each week, sort through the change to keep for toll roads (childhood days in Chicago! So I remember that ‘doll house’ at the MS&I) select a few pennies and then hand them off to us kids to sort through and select our own penny treasures.
    Not exactly super-hero miniatures, but then, Dad was that to me…only not so mini. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on three years, L. Marie. It does go fast, doesn’t it? I don’t collect anything miniature. I used to collect Boyds Bears music boxes, until they stopped making them. I’ll pass my giveaway chance to someone else, I’ve got books to read coming out of my ears.

    • Hi, Jill! Thank you! Yes, time flies. I’m sure you have a lot to read! I do too, come to think of it! 🙂 But I’m looking forward to reading your book. 🙂

      I wasn’t familiar with the Boyds Bears music boxes, so I Googled. How cute!

    • It is! This is from the Renaissance Faire! I didn’t go this past fall, but I hope to return this year. It’s a great place to go for handcrafted knives and swords. A friend of mine has quite a collection of swords.

  6. Happy Blogoversary! Mine always sneak up on me too.

    I don’t collect anything tiny, but it makes more sense to do that than collect big things that take up a lot of space! No need to enter me in the giveaway. I’m not really a fantasy sci-fi fan, but good luck to the others.

    • Thanks, Carrie! The only detriment to collecting tiny things is the fact that they sometimes get under foot. As a kid, I wound up stepping on a bunch of green Army men and the ballet dancers! Arrrggghhhh! They also gather dust just like bigger things.

  7. Happy Blogoversary – and thanks for all your posts.
    As my book piles are taking on a life of their own, I’ll say “neither”, but, thanks for the chance.
    I collect buttons, and odd collection for someone who doesn’t sew, but, I love old buttons, painted buttons, odd buttons. There used to be a button shop just off Michigan Ave., Tender Buttons, that was small and charming and that the most remarkable buttons. I loved to go there, have a few buttons from there. The buttons were as much fun as all the theater and costume designers and seamstresses that would walk in.

    • Thanks, Penny! I love buttons too! I have a bag of buttons. I use a lot of them in my crocheting. I would love to go to a button store. I wind up going to Joann Fabrics a lot and drooling over the buttons. Some of their buttons are pricy however!

  8. Happy Blogoversary! Love that knife! I used to collect swords and daggers. Now I collect LOTR/Hobbit Legos and figures, etc., and stuffed dragons. My daughter collects My Little Ponies, and my son has about a million Hot Wheels and other die cast cars.
    About the book giveaway — I would choose the Ordinary Princess, since I already have Le Guin’s book. I enjoyed that series.

    • Thank you, Lori. Did you get your swords or daggers at a Renaissance Faire?

      I would love to collect some LOTR/Hobbit figurines too. I’ve had to settle for collecting books related to LOTR, like the maps, essays of Tolkien, guides related to the making of the movies. 🙂

      • No, unfortunately there aren’t any Faires near here. I hope to get to one someday, though. I got them through mail orders. Collecting all the LOTR books and such is fun, too. 🙂

      • Yes! I particularly love a book of maps someone developed based on the books.

        A friend of mine collects swords too. She has some beautiful ones!

    • Happy blogoversary to you too, ReGi! 🙂 I’m glad we’re both determined to keep at this (though there are some days when I’m tempted to throw in the towel). 🙂

  9. Happy blogoversary! I didn’t know WordPress sent out birthday wishes. I’ll keep an eye on my mailbox, and in the meantime, I’ll try for Wizard of Earthsea. I can’t believe I don’t have that book. Anyway, I’m hoping to collect the new LEGO series 15 minifigures. I don’t love all of them, but I’d like to get the farmer for his spotted pig and the animal control officer for her skunk. The skunk especially because some years ago we had a skunk problem in our neighborhood.

    • Thanks, Lyn. Yes, they put their wishes in the comment feed. I happened to click on it when I saw that the icon had changed.
      I’ll look forward to seeing what you’ll do with the new minifigs. 🙂 Unfortunately, we have an issue with skunks, so I could use that animal control officer with the skunk too.

  10. Happy blogoversary. I’m about six months behind you. When I started, I was stumbling in the dark. (I still am regarding the technology.) I didn’t think too far ahead, but I certainly didn’t think I’d have enough to say to write a blog every week for two and a half years. I still think I’m on the verge of running out of material.

    The only collection I can think of is the “storybook dolls” my sister and I collected. My mom enjoyed the dolls at least as much as we did. Dad built a shelf for them.

    Since I’m in the middle of packing in preparation for remodeling, I shouldn’t get any more books. But thank you for the offer.

  11. Congrats for your WP anniversary, L. Marie .
    I have no collection of tiny things from my childhood . But sometimes in a drawer I found a little thing from my youth sleeping in the dust and I dream there to contemple it in thinking of the past time . But I stop quickly because they mark an age such the fossils in the piled layers of your life ! 🙂
    In friendship
    Michel

  12. Congrats on your 3rd WP anniversary! As everyone says, time flies. I find the older I get, the faster it flies, even when I’m not having fun 😉 I’d like to participate in your giveaway. I’ve never read The Ordinary Princess but I love the cover! And it’s illustrated? What could be better than an illustrated fairy tale 🙂 I don’t collect tiny things, but I do list toward collecting cat-themed objects. I have a few that look like folk art, but they were made in China. I’ll have to take photos and post them.

    • Thanks, Marie. The Ordinary Princess is pretty awesome. Yes, the author illustrated it herself. So talented!
      I hope you will post your cat collection. One of these days, I’ll have to post the sheep I have grazing on top of my armoire. 🙂

  13. Wow! I can’t believe it’s been three years either! You have SUCH a great blog. I just was introduced to Ursula Le Guin by one of my students and we read a short story by her in class. She IS a fascinating writer! Don’t need a book; just want to say congrats on three years and a terrific blog!

    • Thanks, Linda! I appreciate your blog as well and the great editing experience you’re giving your students. I hope they show their appreciation!

      I recommend Steering the Craft by Ursula Le Guin.

  14. Happy blogoversary, L. Marie!! Ooh, I’m late to the party – hope there’s some cake left! I’m not really a collector, though I’m a hoarder. But I do have loads of cat ornaments, pictures, books etc that people have given me over the years – I guess that happens to every cat owner! But I reckon I’d have had loads of fun with those ballet dancers – when I was a kid, I used to play with the figures from my dad’s chess set for hours. What stories you can invent with Kings and Queens and my favourite knights…!!

    I’m not entering the giveaway – too many books! But thank you anyway for the kind offer! Looking forward to year 4…

    • You’re always welcome! There’s plenty of cake left for you!
      I’m sure friends and family helped you add to your collection of cat ornaments. And I’ll bet they start to multiply on their own the way my sheep seem to. I’m also starting to amass Hello Kittys. 🙂
      How cool that you played with your dad’s chess set. We had a set, but it wasn’t very interesting looking. My older brother taught me to play.

Your Turn to Talk

