How to Really Win the Holidays

I’m very late getting this post  out, having been offline for three days. Obviously, I’ve returned! 🙂 But I said I would announce the winners of the book giveaways today. Better late than never, eh?

If you’ve watched TV at all recently, you’ve probably seen some of Best Buy’s recent “win the holidays” campaign. You can win by purchasing gifts of technology at—where else—Best Buy. The clear winner of course would be Best Buy, who would significantly add to its coffers with your money.

bby-stock-best-buy-logo

But I’m sure you know how to really win the holidays. With the angels proclaiming peace on earth and goodwill toward men (Luke 2; consult A Charlie Brown Christmas, which comes on TV every year), you can extend goodwill toward people. How?

    • Instead of texting, call or visit a friend or family member—especially someone who lives alone or suffered a recent loss. Maybe you don’t know what to say. But your presence is more valuable than words.
    • Buy someone homeless a hot meal. You’ve probably seen this viral photo, which involves a woman doing just that. Think of the impact you can have. A hot meal might seem like a drop in a bucket compared to an ocean of need. But it’s an act of love that will never be forgotten.
    • Make a card or a gift for someone. Remember how excited you were when you were a kid and could hand off the paper chain or wreath you made? Recapture the fun and wonder by making a gift for someone.

Happy Foot

This is a Happy Foot coaster I’m making as a gift (pattern by A.D. Whited of Enchanted Hook).

  • Instead of stressing about where you can find that bobble-head figure from the Star Wars franchise (Toys R Us or Target by the way—you’re welcome), take a hot chocolate break. I know. Easy for me to say. I don’t have an 11-year-old who is dying to get a storm trooper bobble head. But I know some would love to chat about the movies or shows over a nice cup of hot chocolate.
  • Give an animal friend a treat. Even if you lack a pet, you can still give to the animals around you. The orange tabby who lives in the area likes to stop by for tuna. (Though he’s very finicky about brands. He won’t eat the dirt cheap kind.) If you have a garden that rabbits and deer enjoyed over the summer, relax. You’ve already given.

Another way to win is to get free stuff. So let’s get to the book giveaways: All We Left Behind by Ingrid Sundberg

ALLWELEFTBEHIND Ingrid Sundberg Author Photo

and Heading North by Andy Murray.

Andy Photo 12294646_10153732827966740_3177437019818522964_n

The winner of All We Left Behind is

Is . . .

Is . . .

Is . . .

Carrie Rubin!!!

The winner of Heading North is

Is . . .

Is . . .

Is . . .

Laura Bruno Lilly!!

Winners please comment below to confirm.

Best Buy logo from slant.investorplace.com.

47 thoughts on “How to Really Win the Holidays

  1. Ooh, Merry Christmas to me! Thank you so much! I’m thrilled to be a winner. And I love your suggestions for extending goodwill. It’s all too easy to get caught up in frenzied Christmas preparations and forget what’s most important.

  2. Congratulations to Carrie and Laura!! I love your ideas, L. Marie. I’ve got a very late start this year but not stressing about it. To me, the holiday isn’t about gifts, it’s about spending time with my loved ones (hope they feel the same way). 🙂

  3. Congratulations to Carrie and Laura! I’m not a Star Wars fan, so no bobble-head for me. In fact, I typically don’t follow Lego photographers on Instagram if they only post Star Wars photos. And great suggestions for spreading the happiness of the holiday season.

  4. Your win-Christmas ideas are great. And I love the happy foot coaster. I just ordered Star Wars PJs for my seven-year-old grandson. That was easy. Being so young, he had to catch up on the Star Wars saga. Luckily his friend had all the DVDs. Now he’s prepared to watch the new one. I haven’t seen anything Star Wars since 1977. Maybe I should catch up too. The trailers make it look really exciting.
    Congratulations to Carrie and Laura. It’s good of you to sponsor these book giveaways.

  5. Congratulations to Carrie and Laura. 🙂 🙂 Books you are sure to enjoy.
    I’m late in commenting because yesterday was just that sort of day when I had so much to do, actually some time to do it, and then a text came from my sister wanting to meet for lunch. She’s had a rough go lately and the fact that she can now go out to lunch is a very big deal – so, we did. Goodwill does both the doer and receiver good, doesn’t it? Thank you for this post, L. Marie.

    • So glad, Timi. So often we concentrate on being with our families (which is good). But many lack family members close by or have lost many relatives. I’m grateful when I’m included in the family gatherings of others. 🙂

  6. I’m trying to savor the season this year. I’m done shopping. Cards are all mailed. MTM’s mom is visiting. My brother is still alive. Mom and Dad are still okay. MTM is a saint. After a roller coaster year with more tough, depressing or outright bad news than I ever shared publicly, I’m grateful for my list of blessings.

  7. Ooo… good ideas. I’ll add one: offer to do a chore. Grocery shopping for someone who hates shopping, for example. Even if you don’t pay for the groceries, such a thing can really help someone.

Your Turn to Talk

