Shattering the Glass[es] Ceiling

Today I’ll reveal the winners of Smile, the middle grade graphic novel by Raina Telgemeier. I have a surprise announcement about that. But before I get to that, let me distract you with this.

Not long ago, I watched a movie on the Hallmark channel involving an “ugly duckling” hero who turns into a swan. His hottening factor? Taking off his glasses at the suggestion of his dating coach. Suddenly, he’s Swoon City.

men-women-eyewear-tablin-wood-eyeglass-frames-rectangular

Sigh. Remember this old maxim: “Men seldom make passes at girls [or in this case, guys] who wear glasses”? By the way, Dorothy Parker, famed writer/critic said that in 1937. Marilyn Monroe uttered a variation of it in the 1953 movie, How to Marry a Millionaire. I guess people still take that maxim as gospel. But I couldn’t help thinking that if the dude in the Hallmark movie had invested in a pair of stylish frames, he wouldn’t have had to take them off to be hot.

Poster - How to Marry a Millionaire_02

I look better with glasses. You get it? I look [at things] better with glasses. Ha ha. Okay, I’m laughing alone here. Yes, I know the advantages of contacts. Many people love their contacts. I’ve tried contacts. My eyes simply don’t have enough moisture. So after much frustration, I returned to glasses and never felt happier.

Yet in some movies and TV shows, certain attitudes prevail about the wearing of spectacles. For example, the idea that people with glasses aren’t as attractive as people without them or seem nerdier. (Bet you’re thinking of the CBS show, The Big Bang Theory, right about now.) I’m here to announce that a paradigm shift about the limited appeal of glasses wearers is needed.

May I present Exhibits A, B, C, and D?

10f2b03dcbe7491a2566b7541e16b1fc tumblr_mokeuzZnTI1qd4aano2_500

© Copyright 2010 CorbisCorporation ryan-gosling-glasses

Ladies and gentlemen, I rest my case. (You get it? Glasses case? Huh? Huh? Okay. I’ll stop.)

For a great article on the benefit of great frames, check this out:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2234931/Specs-appeal-Men-make-passes-girls-wear-RIGHT-glasses.html

Dog-with-Glasses

Now, I’ll reveal the winners of Smile. Here’s the surprise: I’m giving away THREE copies of the book, rather than two. I also have signed stickers.

6393631  008

So without further ado or tired jokes, here are the three winners:

Andy Murray of City Jackdaw
Carrie Rubin of The Write Transition
Afton Rorvik of Afton Rorvik

Congratulations, winners. Please comment below to confirm, then email your street address and phone number to lmarie7b(at)gmail(dot)com. If you would prefer an eBook, please send the email address you use with Amazon. Afton and Carrie, when you confirm, please tell me if you would like red, orange, or blue daisies. I will send two to each of you. (They are about six inches wide.)

Daisies

I’m sorry that I can’t afford to send daisies your way, Andy. But you will get a book. 🙂

Thanks to all who commented.

Triple Daisies

I’m working on more daisies. Sorry. The purple ones are spoken for.

How to Marry a Millionaire poster from doctormacro.com. Hot guys found at pinterest, swoonworthy.net, bookishtemptations.com, and blackdoctor.org. Dog with glasses from mrwallpaper.com. Eyeglasses frames from flowerhop.net.

46 thoughts on “Shattering the Glass[es] Ceiling

  1. Wow thank you very much! Don’t lament the daisies-the book is just great 🙂
    Will email you now. In regard to your ‘glasses look’ puns, they reminded me of the John Lennon line in The Beatles’ song Come Together, that went something like: Got to be good looking coz he’s so hard to see. 🙂

  2. Congratulations to the lucky winners. 🙂
    I first saw How to Marry a Millionaire just about the time I got my first pair of glasses. It aired on television’s Saturday Night at the Movies and, because I’m myopic (really, not literally), I needed to sit close to the screen to watch. I was old enough to realize I was never going to look like Marilyn Monroe, with or without glasses. 🙂 I got my first pair of lens not long after that. Funny the things we remember. Thanks, L. Marie.

  3. Woot woot! It’s always a thrill to win something. My son’s just starting his 10th grade, but he loves graphic novels so I’m sure he’ll be excited to read it. And the daisies are lovely. They’ll look wonderful on my end table. Thank you so much! I’ll email you my details. 🙂

    As for glasses, I wear both those and contacts. Though I see better in my glasses (thanks to my need for progressive lenses), I still consider it my dress-down look. Thanks, society for making it that way. Argh.

    Thanks again!

      • Great minds run in the same trolley track or is it gutter. Doesn’t matter. I enjoyed your post about glasses although you were so much more positive than I was. Some people look better with them. I would love to have perfect eyesight!

  4. I hope glasses are hot, because I’ve been forced to wear mine more and more. 🙂 MTM also wears his a lot more than he once did, and I don’t mind one bit. He’s hot in whatever. 🙂

    Congrats to the winners!!!!

  5. If you’re hard up for an easy post, I suggest writing up the instructions for those awesome daily coasters….really love them.
    As for glasses, got ’em, use ’em, need ’em. The only thing is, I feel like my vision is ‘boxed in’ to the scope of the actual lens-size, ya know?

  6. I laughed at your glasses joke! I agree with the silliness. I’m lucky enough not to have to wear them, not because I’m afraid I’d look nerdy (too late for that), but because I know I’d constantly misplace them. Still, I can see a need for them in the not-too-distant future.

  7. *sighs* I LOVE it when contacts work for me. They don’t always, though. Not enough moisture AND multiple allergies. My latest eye doctor worked hard to make them workable but I usually stick to my glasses. In my case, though, they shrink my eyes and make them harder for others to see. So fneh. I’m hoping for surgery someday. It won’t eliminate the need for glasses, but it will mean more options instead of settling for lousy frames so I can afford the lenses. (My eyes really are very bad.)

    I agree, though, that there is no reason to assume that because someone is wearing glasses that they are somehow less sexy than people who don’t. Beloved has some optional ones he looks very nice in and my glasses have never stopped him from expressing a general approval of my appearance in various ways.

    • Two friends had the eye surgery. They love life on the other side of the surgery.
      I’m glad Beloved has reminded you of your awesomeness and you do the same for him. 🙂

  8. Where’d you get the photos of the four hot guys? They definitely prove your point.

    My daughters all started reading too much too young and ended up with rather thick glasses. Two of them have already had lasik surgery.

Your Turn to Talk

