Giving Away a Smile . . . or Two

Ever have one of those seasons when you’re so broke you can’t even pay attention? Welcome to my life. Consequently, I was offline for almost two weeks. Internet service providers don’t work for free after all. I haunted the library daily like an overzealous patron. But I couldn’t always get on the computer. And with a 60-minute time limit for the use of a computer, I could only check email and leave.

offline

I missed you. I missed posting on my blog and reading the posts of others.

One good thing that happened during my exile is that I finished a revise of my middle grade fantasy novel. I am now working on cutting scenes out of said revise. The fact that I accomplished so much in a short span of time made me painfully aware of how much I usually procrastinate online.

Meanwhile, I’m back online with a giveaway. Inspired by the kindness of friends who made me smile during a difficult time, I’m giving away two copies of an award-winning middle grade graphic novel called Smile by Raina Telgemeier. Why this book? Mainly because the publisher (Graphix/Scholastic), for some reason, sent me stickers autographed by the author.

6393631  008

So to celebrate my return online and getting through the revision, two commenters will each get a copy of this book. Due to the cost of mail delivery, I can only send the stickers and two crocheted daisy coasters (in photo below; they make me smile) to people in the U.S. (Yep. Offline I accomplished things like learning to crochet daisy-shaped coasters. The pattern is here.) But don’t worry, those of you who live outside the U.S. and depend on Amazon.co.uk. I can still send you the book courtesy of Amazon.

004

Anyway, nice to “see” you again. I’ll announce the winners when I post next week. I’m still deciding on which day I’ll post each week.

What made you smile this week? I hope you’ll find a lot to smile about this weekend.

Book cover from Goodreads. Off button from youthleaderstash.com.

46 thoughts on “Giving Away a Smile . . . or Two

  1. FABULOUS to see you here again, Linda! Congratulations on being on line again. And I know exactly what you mean about how much you can get done without distractions. Earlier this year I was on a writer’s retreat for 5 days (5!

    • I can see why, Charles. People get on and play videogames or, sadly, indulge in other things. They have to be pried off the computer. Granted, I like playing videogames too. But they take time to play. Someone desperately needing to look for a job or write a resume can’t even get to a computer.

  2. Sorry to hear of your forced exile from the Internet but happy to hear you accomplished so much on your WIP! Hmm, maybe I should have a forced disconnect too. Haven’t got as much done lately as I’d like to…

  3. Super-dooper (showing my age) to have you back online. 🙂
    I like your phrase “procrastinate online”. I do that. Often. Daily, though that’s not what I’m doing now, because now I’m doing a happy dance because you are back.
    A great deal made me smile this week, but, just this morning, while wandering around the garden, in my pjs (sad, but true), trying to capture a spider’s web on my camera, a fox strode past me, faster than I could click. I’m sure there is a fable in this, but, alas and alack, I couldn’t focus fast enough to take a photo.

    • Thanks, Penny! I sometimes stroll outside in my pjs. 🙂 I’m sure my neighbors don’t approve.
      Awww. I’ll bet that fox was fun to see. They are fast, aren’t they?
      Last night, I saw a skunk trotting along. 😦 I would have preferred to see a fox.

      • It was fun to see, L. Marie. Yes, they are fast sand he just trotted by with nary a care in the world. One of those special moments in time.
        Watch out for that skunk.

  4. Welcome back, Linda. I thought you were off-line due to a “self-imposed exile.” Sorry that wasn’t the case but it looks like you have lots to SMILE about. Congrats on finishing your revise and your coasters are darling.

    One thing that made me smile this week was Jill’s news about her scoring a contract with Harlequin for her book. Woot!

  5. It’s amazing what one can get done with minimal distractions! Congratulations on your revisions. Glad to see you back, but I also assumed it was part of your planned break. Hmm, what made me smile this week? The usual…smiles and giggles from Angus. 🙂

  6. When we were ‘between homes’ libraries & coffee houses offered a slice of community amidst the book stacks and mocha’s along with their free internet connection. My trusty mini-computer went with me everywhere…
    So glad to receive your virtual smile in this little post.
    Now, get back to that second round of revisions! 😉

    • And you too! I’m sure you’re hard at work! I’m glad you printed that sample awhile back!! I can’t even imagine doing something like that. Sadly, I know nothing of music.

  7. It’s strange how hard it is to just turn that computer off, isn’t it? I actually suffer withdrawal symptoms if the connection goes down for a couple of hours! And yet I do nothing of any importance when I am online – except read your posts, of course! 😉 Glad to have you back and that you got so much done during your exile…

  8. Wow! Your experience makes me wonder how much I’d get done if I turned off my computer. Of course, if it wasn’t broken, who would make me leave it off? Isn’t it great that you finished your revision! Glad to see you back.

    Actually, I’ll be off-line for a week starting tomorrow for another reason. My family is coming for a visit and staying with me.

  9. Congratulations on finishing your revisions! And I’m glad you’re back online, even if it can be a distraction. I’ve thought about writing in a nearby park to avoid the online temptations and have a nice little park picked out if I can tear myself away. There are no shortage of distractions at my place. Which reminds me–the thing I have to smile about: I’m almost done with my first full-scale modular MOC (My Own Creation out of Lego) and it turned out a lot better looking than I thought it would.

  10. Welcome back! In spite of the issues you had to contend with, congratulations on finishing your revisions! It’s funny how hard it is to turn the internet off yet when we do it turns out to be so worth it!

    What made me smile this week? I saw a video of a goat using a smooth loading ramp as a slide, sliding down with her legs tucked under, then scampering back up the stairs to do it again 🙂 I won’t lie, it made me want to have a goat for a few minutes, then I remembered that we live in a small flat in HK 😉

Your Turn to Talk

