Two Years, One Post, and One Ring to Rule Them All

67524Today is my two-year blogoversary. If only print could convey my amazement. Two years. When I began posting exactly two years to the day, I wasn’t sure I’d last two months, let alone two years. But here I am!

Home Alone

My amazement is sorta like this.

I won’t take up too much of your time today, however. Anniversaries are all about celebrating and giving presents. So this post is to announce a blogoversary giveaway: a $25 Amazon card (or some equivalent at Amazon.uk) to one reader. Woot! A winner will be announced sometime next week. (I have another giveaway to coordinate first.)

This giveaway is my way of saying thanks to all who welcomed me as a new blogger or to those who continue reading my posts even when I talk about books or magazines I read in the bathroom. Please comment below to be entered in the drawing. If you feel like mentioning what you’d get at Amazon, that would be lovely. Don’t feel obligated though. You could instead tell me about the weather in your neck of the woods (it’s freeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzing here), your favorite movie, or about an epiphany you had recently. Two years ago, I talked about a movie I enjoyed, so sharing your favorite movie would be very fitting. 🙂

While I wait for you to respond, I’ll continue mainlining Skinny Pop Popcorn and Reese’s. (Does one cancel out the other?)

white-cheddar-300x400   nutrageous_bar

By the way, thanks for all of the memories we’ve shared over the years. (I can say that now. Years.) There have been many that still make me smile, especially as I think about your comments—the best part of having a blog. But reminiscing would only make me cry, and I’ve had enough of that recently, thanks to The Legend of Korra, Book Three: Change. (That’s not a spoiler by the way. I cry easily, at happy or sad moments.) So while you think of how you want to spend that gift card, I’ll go back to my popcorn and the series finale of The Legend of Korra, Book Four: Balance. (I’m bingeing on both seasons.)

The-Legend-of-Korra-Book-3-Change-post     unnamed-3jpg-7f772d-720x1096

Thanks again for visiting my little space.

P. S. If you’re wondering where the “one ring to rule them all” fits in, you can stop wondering. It doesn’t. I just threw that in.

006

Jordie and Kitty have put aside their differences to celebrate this blogoversary. Each, however, has decided to look for the one ring to rule the other.

Skinny Pop from the Skinny Pop website. Legend of Korra, Book Three from animationmagazine.net. Legend of Korra, Book Four from ign.com. Cupcake with candle from go4costumes.com. Macaulay Culkin from musiceyz.co.uk.

53 thoughts on “Two Years, One Post, and One Ring to Rule Them All

  1. Wow:two years! You celebrating your one year milestone doesn’t seem that long ago. Your blog gets better with age 🙂
    What would I get? I’m not sure. Lately I’ve been picking up some classics from the library:Truman Capote, Arthur Miller, etc. And I’m going to re-read To Kill A Mockingbird before that new book comes out. So maybe more of the same.

    • Thanks, Andy! You read A Death of a Salesman recently, didn’t you? Or was that my imagination?
      I’m a bit afraid to read Harper Lee’s new book. But I’ll probably get it anyway.
      I assume you read Roughing It by Mark Twain? The Virginian by Owen Wister?

      • You remember correctly! I waited and waited for View From A Bridge to arrive at my library, but apparently it has gone missing. I’ve now applied for All My Sons. I’m currently reading Capote’s Music For Chameleons. Oh, and this morning a biography of Harper Lee arrived from your fair country in the post.
        I haven’t read those two books that you mentioned-would you recommend them?

  2. Two years! Ha! Remember, you’re in for life! I don’t even think you’ll get out on parole, even with your good behaviour. How’s the food in there btw? Pssst. I’ve heard they’re planning a breakout in blog-block number nine. Better get digging. See you on the outside. 😉

  3. Congratulations on hitting two years! Your blog is one of few that I read regularly. That’s not despite posts on bathroom reading, it’s because of it! Your blog isn’t pretentious, yet it often makes me think. That’s the best sort of writing, in my opinion 🙂

    • Thanks, Laura! I’ve tried to be high brow, but wound up with a headache. I can’t hide my pedestrian side. 🙂 That would be like pretending I don’t have a Scaredy Squirrel hand puppet.

  4. Yay! Congratulations on two years of awesomeness, L. Marie! I thought for sure you started blogging before I did. I guess I was just lucky enough to have found you right when you started. 🙂
    Oh my gosh….I LOVE SKINNY POP! I discovered it about a year ago and I’m hooked. There is never not a bag in my pantry. It goes well with the Hallmark Movies. 🙂
    What would I get at Amazon you ask. Books, of course! 🙂 Congratulations, my friend!

    • You started way before me, Jill. I’m glad our paths crossed. 🙂 I’m doubly glad my brother talked me into starting a blog, though I fought him on it.
      I am now totally addicted to Skinny Pop. I used to look with contempt at it when I passed it at the store, mistakenly believing that it was probably tasteless. Silly me!

  5. In honor of your anniversary, I went back and read your first post and am pleased to report that I felt much the same about The Artist ~ better than anticipated. Especially the dog!

    “One ring to rule them all” . . . My Precious!

    Glad our cyber paths crossed . . . now pass the popcorn!

    • Me too, Nancy. That reminds me. I need to head over to your blog. . . .
      Yes, I was surprised to love The Artist. So glad I saw it.
      Would you believe I’m thinking about that popcorn? It’s not even lunchtime!

  6. Congrats! I passed my 2-year anniversary a few months ago! I wish you to have many more anniversaries of this blog!

    In terms of fave movie, that’s the Back to the Future trilogy! So, I’d probably get something like that. Or something for school.

    • Happy blogoversary. I’m sorry I missed that post. I read the one where you discussed Island at the Top of the World–a movie I’ve never seen. We probably started posting around the same time!

  7. Way to go, Linda! That is indeed an achievement. I’m bad about tracking dates, so I’m not sure how far along I am myself, but hasn’t it been a wonderful ride?

    Favorite movie… Yeesh, for someone as indecisive as I can be, that question make me gnash my teeth, so I’ll just list some I like off the top of my head: Superman 2, Goonies, Star Wars, Star Trek 2 and 4, Conan the Barbarian… (is it obvious I’m an 80s kid?)

    • Ha! So funny, Phillip. I had those on my list because of my 80s roots. 🙂 Back in the day, my brothers and I would see all of Arnold’s movies. And we certainly saw the Star Trek movies.

  8. Many felicitations, Linda!! Two years is a milestone worth loads and loads of popcorn. Especially Skinny Pop. You can’t get out much in this weather, so you may as well read and eat.

    I’d buy presentation supplies at Amazon. I need a couple of book display holders. Many times, they aren’t provided. If I had any money left over, I’d buy electric blue Sharpies.

  9. Here in NYC, we just set a record for cold last night with 3 degrees. The old record was 7 degrees. But I’m glad to be out of Albany, where the temperature was minus 8 degrees (far from their record of minus 22). Congratulations on your 2nd blogiversary! Looking forward to many more delightful years!

    • Thanks, Lyn. I’m glad I can comment on your blog now!
      Brrr! That’s cold. It’s cold here too. Last night we had a temperature of -3. It climbed to 8 above today. Woot!

  10. “While I wait for you to respond, I’ll continue mainlining Skinny Pop Popcorn and Reese’s. (Does one cancel out the other?)”
    HA! I had to chime in here and say, no they don’t cancel out each other…BUT if you eat while standing over the kitchen sink, it doesn’t count as calories…heh-heh.
    Congrats on two years…I’m not far behind you but, well, might not make it, so all the more kuddos to you!
    🙂

    • Thanks, Laura! Glad to know that standing over the sink helps. I’ll bet drinking a Diet Coke also helps too. I’ll try that.
      You will make this blogoversary! You will!!! (I’m throwing all the force of my persuasion at you.)

      • Thanks for that forceful boost! It compelled me to look up the actual date and found out my second is farther than originally thought…not till the end of August! So my comment was perhaps a bit premature, tho reflective of how I feel. 😀
        Did you feel that way at 1.5 yrs of blogging?

      • Yes. Getting to the two-year mark seemed to take a long time at first. But now that I look back, the time really flew by. It will for you too.

  11. Congratulations on your two years of blogging! Time does fly, doesn’t it. I keep missing my anniversary. I actually started my blog in late 2007 and then drifted away for a couple of years. I resumed my blog in February 2013. So, maybe I should celebrate 2 anniversaries a year … Just need to remember the dates 😉 And now you, Jill, and Andra are making me think I need to get some Skinny Pop!

Your Turn to Talk

