Suitable for Adults?

What items would you deem suitable for adults? Why do I ask? Let me elaborate in case your mind is going in a totally different direction than mine. If I go to a store and purchase a DVD or blu-ray for an animated show or movie, most of the time the cashier will ask if I want a gift receipt under the assumption that I’m making a purchase for a child. The question is never posed to me if I buy a live action movie.

The same question occurs if I enter a bookstore and purchase a middle grade book. I once told a cashier, “No, I’m going to read that.” She offered a “You’re kidding me” look. Never mind the fact that people who write books for kids can learn a lot by reading books other people have written for kids.

Several years ago, before miniseries like Galavant were even a gleam in the eye of ABC executives, a friend gave me this as a gift.

012

(Um, not the books. The knight and horse.) Makes you think of this image, doesn’t it?

un-poster-pour-galavant

She knew I loved stories about knights and was researching them for a book. Yet this knight and horse have drawn some disbelieving glances from others of the “Why would you want that?” variety.

When I was a kid, I remember asking my parents if I had to dress a certain way and like certain things when I became an adult. Would I have to give up Chuck Taylors? If so, being an adult would totally suck.

conallstarhiredsidelrg

Well, I’m an adult, and my love of the above has yet to dissipate. But I guess I sometimes make other adults uncomfortable, because I still love

bubblegumPicture books
• Puddles (though I don’t jump into them these days)
• Animated series
• Bubblegum
• Graphic novels
• Fairy tales

You’re probably ready to sing “My Favorite Things” now, aren’t you? Part of being an adult is admitting to being childlike without being childish. For example, sticking my tongue out and going, “Nyeah!” when someone looks askance at a purchase I’ve made (though I really want to do so), would be childish. But I have to wonder why being an adult means you have to give up something you love just because you cross a certain threshold age-wise.

The apostle Paul stated

When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.
1 Corinthians 13:11

But did Paul mean that being an adult means dictating how all other adults should behave? I can’t help thinking back to third grade when we used to say to each other, “Ewwww! You like that?” So are we suddenly more grown up if we utter the same statement about something harmless another adult happens to like?

Don’t get me wrong. I love books like this

18143977

which is an award-winning adult fiction book. And I love these Prada boots

Prada boots

though I can’t afford them. And in the winter, I love this:

002

(In case you can’t read the label, this is Windshield De-Icer. For those of you who live in warmer climates and don’t see products like this, it makes scraping ice off windshields a lot easier.) And I love this brand of lipstick no matter what season:

mac_stylishlylipsticks002

So, I need to take joy in the things I love and not worry if I get “the look” from someone. Instead of scowling, I can say, “Okay, sure” when someone asks me if I need a gift receipt, simply because it’s not worth the time to justify a purchase I have every right to make for myself. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to watch Justice League: War. And I might chew some bubblegum while I’m at it.

justice-league-war

Chuck Taylors from shoebizsf.com. Galavant poster from melty.fr. Book cover from Goodreads. Justice League: War image from mundobignada.com. Bubblegum from whoguides.com.

33 thoughts on “Suitable for Adults?

  1. My house is filled with stuffed animals, puppets, children’s books, dollhouse furniture, and kid’s movies. Sure skme of them belong to my daughter but many belong to me or my husband. They fit in well with my more adult collection.

    • Yay! I have several houses that are storage/gift boxes made out of paper mache. They might make good doll houses, if I ever get around to making furniture for them. I used to make tiny furniture out of paper. It’s time to get back into that!

  2. Lots of anime and comics here. I’ve had that ‘childish things’ quote hurled at me a few times. Usually by people with their own childish interests. Seriously, how can I take someone seriously when they’re telling me Cowboy Bebop is for kids and they’re wearing a ‘Team Edward’ shirt? I wonder what people think of the adults who make all these childish things.

    • You made me laugh out loud!!! So true, Charles! I roll my eyes when someone claims that “comic books” and all animated features are for strictly for kids. They’ve never read Watchmen obviously. And I wouldn’t give a six-year-old The Flashpoint Paradox, with its gore level.

  3. That’s one of the bonuses of growing older, we no longer have to worry about what other people think. As for those boots…I think I would break my ankle if I tried to walk in those, L.! 🙂
    “The pursuit of truth and beauty is a
    sphere of activity in which we are
    permitted to remain children
    all our lives.”
    – Albert Einstein

  4. Maybe what makes some “young at heart” is the continued pleasure of “childish” things long into adulthood. When I was a child, I couldn’t wait to grow up. Now that I’m an (older) adult, I can’t wait to spend more time with my inner child. I still get excited about stuffed animals. I still love puzzles, especially jigsaw puzzles but that may be genetic since my mom, at 91, still loves putting those together. I still love suspending my disbelief and being taken away into another world, whether it have fairies and magic, or grungy gumshoes. You’re right to just take the receipt and go on your way. As long as you’re enjoying yourself … that’s what counts 🙂

    • Hi, Marie. I love that you knit, by the way. I also knit, but I probably crochet more than I knit these days. When I was a kid, I couldn’t wait to be 18. But after 18, the birthdays came fast and furious! I also love puzzles. My parents love them also. And yes, I am enjoying myself!

  5. The Best Thing About Getting Older: Audrey watched her 97-year-old neighbor sail by on a bike: “You’re such an inspiration, Vivian. What’s the best thing about getting older?”

    “No peer pressure.” 😛

    Keep on doing what puts a light in your life, Linda.

  6. So true. A year ago, one of the people I follow on Instagram won a “worst nightmare” contest portraying a Lego Store employee telling him he could buy pieces because “Lego is for kids.” Fortunately, it was just a bad dream.

  7. I still like many childish or child-like things as well. I still watch animated movies, read “kid” books, and wear Chuck Taylors. I also wear adult boots, though not Prada (not only could I not afford the boots in the picture, I would seriously hurt myself trying to wear them). 🙂

    • Yay!!! I have a number of pairs of Chuck Taylors. I hear you about Prada. I would like for once to be able to wear a pair of high heels and not fall over on my face. 😀

    • Ooo!! Was that with Thomas? I still get a warm feeling when I see a Matchbox car. My brothers and I played with them when I was a kid. I had a few lying around my place, but I wound up giving them away to some boys in my Sunday school class.

  8. Dearest L., every time I read your blog, i love you more. While I do think there are certain fashions that ought to be abandoned after a certain age (my kids are still under the impression bikinis are only for little girls who still needed diaper changes and sagging pants are for little boys who lack buttage but can’t do belts if they want to have any hope of making it to the bathroom in time), there’s no reason not to enjoy a nice cartoon from time to time. And some picture books take storytelling and painting to a pristine level not touched in other variations of the arts. One of my favorites is The Goblin and the Empty Chair.

    • Awww. Thanks, ReGi. And you know I’m a fan of yours! When you get ready to release Faerie Blood, you’ll come on the blog, won’t you? That would be sweet.

      I thought about the fashion aspect as I wrote the post. I still plan to wear a toe ring when I’m 80 or 90. But I’m willing to give up the bikinis, tankinis, and short shorts. Perhaps that’s too much wrinkled flesh for the public to see. 😀

      • Oh, I’ll be wearing earrings that brush my shoulders my whole life, I think. Even if they only touch my shoulders because the years of danglies have dragged my ear lobes down. 😛 And whenever my hair goes white, it may be going cerulean shortly thereafter. But, yeah. No bikinis for me.

        I wasn’t planning to do a big push for Faerie Blood until I had a couple sequels out, but if you read it and still like it, I’ll come on the blog. 🙂

    • Wow. That’s a good philosophy.
      Watching superhero animated series is kind of validating. All of these adults work on shows they love, because they started reading comic books when they were kids. They never outgrew that love, and we who watch the results of their creativity are all the richer for it.

Your Turn to Talk

