Going for the Heart

Today, I’ll reveal the winner of Charles Yallowitz’s Legends of Windemere books. (See author interview here.) But before I get to that, let me get to this. . . .

When I was a kid, Saturdays were for watching martial arts films and Godzilla movies. I didn’t care so much about plot or whether or not a story was emotionally satisfying. Watching two people with a specific skill set fighting each other or watching a crowd running from a huge monster provided enough satisfaction for a kid like me who generally felt powerless.

bruce-lee-bruce-lee-32791998-1200-791

Bruce Lee!

But when I became an adult, a story’s emotional core mattered. Plot and action scenes without heart failed to interest me. And heart is shown through good, solid characters with emotional arcs.

In an article in Entertainment Weekly about Christopher Nolan and his latest film, Interstellar (in theaters November 7), writer Jeff Jensen said of Nolan, “Finding new ways to emotionally engage an audience has become increasingly important to him” (Entertainment Weekly 23).

      interstellar-poster-christopher-nolan CHRISTOPHER-NOLAN-INTERSTELLAR-MOVIE-2014-HD-WALLPAPERS

Glad to hear it. I’ve generally found Nolan’s films to be emotionally engaging. Batman Begins and The Dark Knight are two of my favorite superhero movies ever. I love Nolan’s ability to write/produce/direct a film that engages the brain and the heart—not an easy task. So of course, I’m looking forward to seeing Interstellar, which stars Matthew McConaughey and Anne Hathaway, and involves a wormhole.

          Batman-Begins the_dark_knight_poster1

Charles Yallowitz is another author who strives to engage the brain and the heart with his books. (How’s that for a segue?)

          Charles_author_photo_B&W Compass_Key_Cover

So, let’s get to the winner of his books, shall we? The winner of the Legends of Windemere books is . . .

Is . . .

Is . . .

Is . . .

Andy of City Jackdaw!

Congratulations, Andy! Please comment below to confirm, then email me at lmarie7b(at)gmail(dot)com to provide the email address you generally use with Amazon. If for some reason, you cannot accept, please let me know and I will choose another winner.

While you cheer for Andy, please tell me the name of your favorite Christopher Nolan film or, if you like, name something (or someone) a film has to have in order to engage your heart. I’ll start by telling you two words that generally work for me: heroic elves. Now if Christopher Nolan somehow worked them into the plot of Interstellar, he has my loyalty for life.

Jensen, Jeff. “Interstellar.” Entertainment Weekly. 24 Oct. 2014. 20-28. Print.

Bruce Lee photo from fanpop. Instellar images from hdwallpaperscool.com. Batman Begins poster from filmoria.co.uk.

29 thoughts on “Going for the Heart

  1. Wow it feels like Christmas is here already! I look forward to reading them during the long, dark winter nights 🙂
    As for something a film has to have in order to engage my heart, it is hope. I recently watched the film 28 Weeks Later. I didn’t like how the film ended, with people sacrificing themselves in vain. I’m getting on a bit now, I need happy endings!

  2. I always thought Godzilla had more depth than people gave him credit for. At least in the movies where he was fighting other monsters or his son was around.

    My favorite Christopher Nolan movie might be ‘The Prestige’. I actually didn’t realize that was his until I looked up his filmography now. That had some interesting characters and mystery. Also David Bowie, which is always a plus.

      • I worked at a video store at the item. Those two movies hurt each other at the box office from what people were saying. At least in my area, people were getting confused on which one was which or simply annoyed that the ‘same movie’ was released at the same time. It reminded me of when Deep Impact and Armageddon came out around the same time.

        I loved both movies. I’m pretty sure I have both. They definitely have different feels to them.

  3. My son has been counting the months and now days until Interstellar comes out 😉 In terms of emotional heart of a story, I’ve been spending the last few days looking at my story through the exercises in John Truby’s book, The Anatomy of Story. His tools for helping the writer hone in on that emotional core make sense to me and have helped me (I hope) deepen my story.

  4. You are definitely my go to movie girl, L. Marie. I haven’t heard anything about this movie, it does sound interesting. I agree, characters with no emotion are like the Paper Dolls I played with as a little girl, flat and lifeless.
    Congratulations to Andy!

    • Ha! Such a good analogy, Jill.
      Did you see Inception? That’s classic Christopher Nolan: edgy, thought provoking, and–above all–imaginative. After watching Inception with my family, we talked about it for three hours afterward. Now, that’s a movie!

      • No, I didn’t see Inception…I’m terrible about getting out to the movies and I never seem to have a block of time at home to watch…well Hallmark movies, but I usually fall asleep and have to catch them again on re-run.
        It does sound like a good one if it prompted that much conversation. I might have to add it to my list. 🙂

      • Now that Doctor Who is on and I have a meeting on Sunday nights, I’ve been missing the Hallmark movies. But the season finale of Doctor Who is coming on, so I can return to Hallmark!

  5. *snicker, snort* “Heroic elves.” 😀

    Congratulations Andy!

    Hmm… I’m not good at keeping up with pop culture, so off the top of my head I can’t name a favorite Nolan movie. I will say a) I love some of the new martial arts movies. Jackie Chan and Jet Li!!!! Beautiful choreography, like watching ballet, only my husband will sit through it. b) My high school physics teacher went to school with Bruce lee’s son. (He was really sad when we told him he died. 😦 ) c) Ummm… There needs to be some sort of sacrifice, be it intentional or thrust upon the MC. Somewhere, someone needs to make a serious choice. I’m not big on tear-jerkers (at all), but I prefer movies & stories that involve personal risk of some sort.

    • Did you happen to see The Forbidden Kingdom with Jackie Chan and Jet Li? Finally the two fought each other!
      How cool that your physics teacher went to school with Bruce Lee’s son. I remember when his son died.

      • I love that movie. First time watching was definitely a gasp, Gasp, GASP! Honey!!! We MUST watch this again! And again! And again! And we do. 😀

Your Turn to Talk

