Check This Out: The Shadowfell Trilogy (Part 2)

JM_with_Harry_smallerHey! Welcome back to the blog. The incomparable Juliet Marillier is here for day 2 of our discussion of her current trilogy: Shadowfell. In case you missed part 1 of the interview, you can find it here. Take a look at these covers. Beautiful, aren’t they? (In series order.)

     Shadowfell_US Raven_Flight_cover_draft_(424x640)

THE_CALLER_FC_r2_1

I’ll be giving away a set of these books. But you’ll have to wait till the conclusion of the discussion for more details. So fasten your seatbelts, and let’s get this show on the road.

El Space: Are you an outliner or a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants writer? Please walk us through your writing process, Juliet.
clipboardJuliet: I’m at the planner end of the spectrum. I usually sell a new novel or series on the basis of a proposal, which means I have to write a complete synopsis, including the ending, before I start. There’s no wandering in and letting the story take its own course. I like to know where I’m going. My process goes a bit like this:

  • Get an idea for the plot, setting, and main characters. What is the theme? What/whom is this story about? What is the journey for the main characters?
  • Make some decisions about voice, point of view, and structure. How do I want to tell this story?
  • Write the proposal, including a full synopsis.
  • Develop the synopsis or outline into a chapter plan.
  • At the same time as the above, do the required research for the book/series.
  • Start writing. I generally write about three chapters, then go back and revise them. I tweak the chapter plan as I go along. No plan is set in stone—I make changes if I find something’s not working, or if I get a great new idea. However, the overall structure—the architecture of the story—usually doesn’t change.
  • Repeat the last step until the manuscript is finished. Every three chapters I go back and revise all of the previous chapters, so by the time I reach The End, the manuscript has had a lot of refining.
  • All that revision means (a) I work quite slowly and (b) what I have at that point is close to a final draft. I would generally do one or two complete passes through the manuscript to tidy things up, then it goes to the editor(s) at the publishing house. She writes a report, and I attend to her suggested revisions. Then it’s more or less done.

402045El Space: Your books are historical fantasy, some of which are based on fairy tales. Please tell us what excites you most about the genre and why you chose to use real settings as the basis for your books.
Juliet: I didn’t make a conscious choice to write in a particular genre. When I started out, I wanted to use a particular story I’d loved in childhood (“The Six Swans”) as the basis for a novel about a real family. I wanted to explore what the personal cost would be for the sister and brothers who had to deal with the catastrophe of a magical curse. At that stage I didn’t read fantasy, in fact I was hardly aware of it as a genre for adult readers, though I had read some of the classics—Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon, Mary Stewart’s Arthurian books. The way I write is connected with my lifelong love of traditional stories, and my style is rather like oral storytelling. I believe those old stories have a great deal of wisdom that is still relevant even in our time. They were and still are wonderful tools for teaching and healing. Only three of my sixteen novels are actually based on fairy tales, but the tropes and motifs of traditional storytelling are woven through everything I write.

Most of my novels are set in “real world” history and geography—the Shadowfell series is an exception. Some contain more accurate history than others. I made some beginner’s errors with the history in my first series, because at that stage I didn’t realise readers who were happy to accept uncanny characters and magical happenings would at the same time expect accurate historical detail. I became more meticulous with the research as I went along. I find real history endlessly fascinating, especially the “grey areas” about which few contemporary records remain. I seized on a snippet of story about a Pictish king being tutored by a druid as the basis for the Bridei Chronicles. I wrote that series using a combination of known history, informed guesswork, and pure imagination. The uncanny elements in my novels are usually based on what the people of that time and culture would have believed in.

                      25296  13923

13926

The Bridei Chronicles

El Space: Which authors inspire you?
Juliet: Authors whose work combines great writing craft with compelling storytelling. I have too many to list, so here are just a few, all of whose work I read and re-read:

                    944073    10210

El Space: An eBook of The Caller, book 3 of Shadowfell, will be released by Pan Macmillan Australia on February 25 with the print edition debuting in Australia in June and in July in the United States. I saw on your website that you’re working on a book called Dreamer’s Pool. Please tell us a little about that.
Juliet: The series title is Blackthorn & Grim, and it’s an adult fantasy series, quite a bit darker than my previous work, with older, more damaged protagonists. The first novel is Dreamer’s Pool, coming out from Penguin U.S. and Pan Macmillan Australia in November 2014.

Here’s how the story of Dreamer’s Pool starts: The embittered healer Blackthorn is incarcerated and awaiting a hearing when she is told she’s to be summarily executed. Then a mysterious visitor offers her a lifeline—she can be freed provided she promises to live by the visitor’s rules for the next seven years. Each time she breaks a rule—there are three all up—another year will be added to her term. Blackthorn knows she hasn’t a hope of keeping any of the rules, especially the one about not seeking vengeance against her archenemy. But with the fey involved, she’s not going to get away with lying.

In each novel of this series, our two protagonists are faced with a mystery to solve. The setting is early medieval Ireland. I’d describe the Blackthorn & Grim books as dark fairy tale + mystery + struggle for personal redemption.

Well, that about wraps it up. Thank you, Juliet, for being my guest! I’m so glad you came by. I’m looking forward to Dreamer’s Pool! 

And thank you to all who visited today. If you’re looking for more information about Juliet and her books, head to her website or to her official fan page on Facebook. Be sure to check there for publication dates for her books.

The Shadowfell trilogy can be found here:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Indiebound
Powell’s Books
iTunes Books

One of you will win not just Shadowfell books 1 and 2, but a preorder of book 3! Comment below to be entered in the drawing. (TODAY ONLY!) The winner will be announced on Monday, February 23! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Author photo and Shadowfell series covers courtesy of Juliet Marillier. Other book covers from Goodreads and Wikipedia. Clipboard from www1.imperial.ac.uk.

160 thoughts on “Check This Out: The Shadowfell Trilogy (Part 2)

  1. Excellent interview…I’m quickly becoming a HUGE fan of Juliet! Shadowfell was my first book and she got me hook, line, and sinker! I gobble up anything I can find now 🙂 Super excited to see the final installment of the trilogy. Also looking forward to the new series, sounds right up my alley!

  2. I’ve always loved Juliet’s books, but I haven’t had the chance to read these yet! She’s an amazing person and author, and I can’t wait to read Shadowfell.

    Thank you for this interview!

  3. I remember picking up Juliet’s first book in 2000 while browsing the shelves in Barnes and Noble. I’ve been hooked ever since. They were the only books i let myself buy in hardcover while in college. Great interview!!!

  4. Great interview – thank you for sharing it! I love her work and I’m impatiently awaiting Raven Flight from my local library.

  5. Adore the interview. Juliet Marillier has amazing books and beautiful. Love she know the ending after sells, she knows are love her storys

  6. It makes me very emotional to see The Mists in this post, and that’s because that series is the reason I started reading Juliet. One time I was just browsing a bookstore and Daughter of the Forest’s cover called my attention, but it was the little blurb that said something like “the best fantasy series since The Mists of Avalon” that actually made me buy the book, because I was totally obsessed with The Mists at the time.

    My God, I cannot wait for The Caller. Cannot. Wait. 😉

  7. What a great interview! I fell in love with Juliet’s writing when I was younger, reading Wildwood Dancing and Cybele’s Secret, and have loved branching out to her other writing, including her short stories like those in Prickle Moon, I can’t wait to see how The Caller trilogy ends and begin a new adventure with Blackthorn and Grim!

  8. I have and love every book by Juliet Marillier!! Her books take me away to a world I love so deeply. I am so so so excited for The Caller and the new blackthorn series!!! Awesome interview!! Thank you so much for sharing!!! Xoxo

  9. Great interview! Loved hearing her insight! I’ve been a fan since first reading Daughter of the Forest years ago – and my own writing is heavily influenced by folklore and history of Scotland and Ireland as well. Thanks for sharing this with us!

  10. Loved the interview! Juliet’s book have been such an inspiration to me. I have read them all–and look forward to each new book or series. Shadowfell has been a special favorite for me. I am deeply inspired by the characters’ courage, and for their deep love for their people and their land. Juliet has a rare talent for blending storytelling, history, and a deep sense of reverence for the world. I always get a sense that each of her books call us back to things we have lost! Love them!!!

  11. I’m a huge fan of Juliet Marillier, my favorite saga is Sevenwaters, and is the saga where I met her, I love too The Bridei Chronicles, the mix between magic and history is perfect. unfortunately. I could not read Shadowfell, hope to read soon,

  12. I love Juliet’s books. Her characters grab you immediately and you can’t put the book down. I would love to win a set of her new books.

  13. What a great interview. Always love hearing about the author’s process and especially their favorite books. I love Mary Stewart 🙂

  14. Great interview – loved all the background on how she writes! Have only recently discovered Juliet Marillier’s works but totally enjoy the weaving of magic, romance and mystery.

  15. I rarely follow an author’s books, sometimes I’ll get bored and moved onto a different author, but Juliet Is just extraordinary. She has me starving for more. And makes me sad when a series or book is over. Love you!

  16. Oh my goodness, Juliet is one of the most talented writers I’ve ever had the pleasure to read! Her writing is so beautiful and I practically devour her words. These interviews are fantastic! I haven’t read this series yet, but I must now move them up closer to the top of my tbr. Thanks!

  17. Pingback: Worth the Risk | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  18. Aw man, the excitement I feel when I read about Blackthorn and Grim! Darker and edgier + more fantasy + mystery is fine by me! I want this series now! 😀 (And yes I want to win the contest….)

Your Turn to Talk

