Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

ice-creamAnd it’s about to get cold inside with the first, hopefully annual, Ice Cream Giveaway!

That’s right! As a way of saying Happy New Year and thanks to all who follow this blog, I’m hosting this giveaway. I found a place that delivers ice cream, sorbet, or gelato to your door—IceCreamSource.com. Unfortunately, they only deliver to the U.S., so I can’t make this an international giveaway. (Sorry about that.)

I wish I could send pints to all of you—you’re all deserving. But there can only be ONE winner! (Just like there can only be one Highlander!) I will have the pint of the winner’s choice sent to that individual. IceCreamSource.com lists many brands, including Ben & Jerry’s, Hagen-Dazs, Breyer’s, Silver Moon, and others. And what better way to celebrate the freezing cold of winter than with freezing cold ice cream??? Huh? Am I right or am I right?

   BreyersLogo125 VtFinest-Logo125 EdysLogo125 

You might dash on over to IceCreamSource.com (click on the name in the second paragraph) and look at the brands, then comment below and tell me which one you would like, if you haven’t already done so in a previous post. If you have, cool. . . . And that by the way, is a winter pun. 😀 Also, since I’m nosy, please tell me which winter activity—including Winter Olympic sports—you love the most. (BTW: I love sledding! As for Olympic sports, I love all of the ski events, especially ski jumping; snowboarding; the luge; bobsledding; and all of the skating events—figure skating, ice dancing, speed skating, etc.)

Winner to be announced on Friday, January 31.

frozen-logoYes, winter sports are cool. But appreciating winter is sometimes a battle for me. On Sunday, as I was driving to church down one iced-over, unplowed street after another (all with the look of evil meringue), and watching snow falling for the 50,000,000th time this winter, appropriately enough I blasted the Frozen soundtrack. If you have seen the movie (Disney’s latest animated movie), or own the soundtrack like I do (it’s good, isn’t it?), you’re familiar with “Let It Go,” a lovely song written by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, and beautifully sung by Idina Menzel. Well, I tend to have anxiety sometimes, especially if I’m driving down a street glazed with ice and snow. So, I needed to hear that song, especially the last line: “The cold never bothered me anyway.”

Frozen-Soundtrack-frozen-35659358-1280-1280

So, here’s to winter and its fickleness and frigid temperatures. Let’s raise our ice cream spoons and say, “Take that, winter! Yeah, the wind chill index is 20 below today! But you know what? The cold never bothered me anyway.”

Ice cream image from hfboards.hockeysfuture.com. Frozen logo from animationmagazine.net.

36 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. Oh, I love the bobsledding too, Linda! I can’t wait for the start of the Olympics.A wind chill of 20 below…you’re a tough cookie. Speaking of cookie, Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough…YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stay warm!

  2. I picked up a carton of Ben & Jerry’s Liz Lemon the other day… sooo good, now I’m on a frozen greek yogurt kick. Since I didn’t see that one, I’m putting my vote in for the Blueberry Vanilla Graham.

    And ice cream is great anytime of the year, in my opinion!

    • I also eat ice cream at anytime of the year. I hven’t had Liz Lemon though. Will have to try that one! I love Ben & Jerry’s Everything but the . . . Soooo good!!!

  3. It’s possible that you are the coolest. I personally love Ben & Jerry’s coffee heath bar crunch while watching figure skating. 😉 Most of the snow is gone here, though.

  4. I’m a Rocky Road fan. And I enjoy walking my dog in the winter because he likes to bark at the big dogs, and there aren’t a lot of other dogs out when it’s this cold. He loves the cold, though, because he’s double-coated (fur and hair), so he doesn’t need a coat or sweater to stay warm. OTOH, he really suffers in the heat.

    • I am amazed at the resiliency of animals. Though I have to wonder if their feet get cold. My fingers get cold even with gloves on, especially when I have to pump gas.

  5. I just had to run to Twitter and inform my boyfriend, whose name is Edy, that he shares his name with an ice-cream company. He’s a vegan, so he’ll probably be very disappointed, actually.

    I went sledding in Switzerland on my recent tour, and it was the greatest! It doesn’t get very snowy here, so we have a few ski fields but that’s about it. I love watching figure-skating but skates hurt my ankles so sadly I cannot partake. Hot chocolate with marshmallows, with a good book in front of an open fire if it can be managed, is my favourite activity, though, I think.

    I have to say I prefer winter, but then over here we have the opposite problem of meteorologists having to add new colours to their weather maps because we break all the records for heat (I think the new colour had to be brought in last year when it reached 48 or 50 or something in Central Australia). So even winter days here are usually still in the double-digits.

  6. I can’t think of a better way to survive this winter than to binge on creamy decadent chocolate ice dreaminess – albeit COLD. 🙂 Good idea, Linda! If I were to win, I like CHOCOLATE surprises – so you could surprise me. 🙂 Running out now to buy chocolate syrup just in case. 🙂

    • Chocolate surprises are always good. Unless they come in those boxes of chocolates that have weird things inside. I don’t like surprises that way. Case in point: I am not a fan of chocolate covered cherries. So I don’t like biting into a chocolate and finding a gooey cherry inside.

  7. Unfortunately I’m in the UK so I can’t win but I love the fact you’re doing an ice-cream giveaway in the middle of winter! We don’t get much snow over here (and when we do everything grinds to a halt) but I have been snowboarding once – in Greece of all places! – and that was good fun even if I did come away with bruises everywhere after just two days. I’d rather watch on TV though – they make it look so easy!

    • Okay. Yes, Frozen deserves the buzz. I was just talking with some friends yesterday about when it would debut on DVD since it’s still in the first-run theaters in my area.

  8. Pingback: Fractals: The Purpose of the Pattern | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  9. Pingback: Baby, It’s Cold Outside, Partie Deux | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

Your Turn to Talk

