A Touch of Spring

When the sky looks like this,

012

churning out sleet that turns to ground-hugging ice, and the rose bush looks like this,

014

I long for a touch of spring, especially since I just watched the last episode of the final season of Teen Titans, which has nothing whatsoever to do with the season; I’m just mourning the fact that there are no more episodes.

Teen_Titans_27

The Teen Titans

I’ve got the midwinter blahs. Ever get those? Everything in my neck of the woods is gray, gray, gray, and the tree branches bare and brittle. On days like this, I crave a bit of color, a bit of cheer. But please note the lack of sunshine in the first photo. . . . No sun? No problem. I know just what to do.

First, I started with these

     019 010

and this

004

and then made these.

    003 005

008

Sometimes crocheting can be an act of defiance. Ha! Take that, winter weather! Crocheted items are as colorful and cheerful as a daisy and last longer. On days like this, I’m thankful that my grandmother took the time to teach me to crochet.

Today was one of those days when I needed not only spring, but a spring in my step. One discouraging thing after another happened. And everything I wrote seemed to land like lead on the page. But you know what? Each time I glanced at the flowers I crocheted, I felt a lift in my spirit.

This has been a good reminder for me to avoid taking flowers for granted when they come in the spring. There’s something to be said for flower (floral?) therapy.

When was the last time a flower or something else in nature deeply touched you? Ever have the midwinter blahs? What do you do when that happens?

Teen Titans image from latourdesheros.com.

29 thoughts on “A Touch of Spring

  1. I am the opposite-I love the half of the year that begins with Autumn/Fall, and I love Winter especially.
    But up to now in England we have had nt a single flake of snow. Nothing but rain. It’s not just the kids who are disappointed! Wonder if I could crochet up some snow? 🙂

    • Perhaps you could, Andy. I might complain about snow, but I would miss it if we didn’t get any. I spent Christmas in a city where the temperature was 60 degrees (or 15 degrees Celsius). It felt all wrong to me, coming from a colder climate.

  2. I love the second half of winter, after the solstice and inspect every day for signs of the approaching of spring. If it snows, then more’s the better. It just makes the oncoming season’s arrival even dramatic. Right now there’s just a tiny, almost imperceptible increase in the amount of light each day and its strength. But I seek it, because I need it! I don’t get the winters blues like I used to, I’ve accepted what an important role the cold dark days play in the glory of spring. But by the end of Feb, boy am I ready for some sunlight.
    I love your flowers. I may take up knitting as an act of defiance. Maybe this new form of protest could spread to other areas of resistance? Who knows – the Palestinians could knit a peace wall with the Israelis? I think you’re on to something.

    • Ha. I love that image of knitting a peace wall. Thank you, John. I took up knitting when I was eleven. I don’t knit as much these days. But I recommend it, especially since a sweater doesn’t take as long to make as one might think.

      I’m one of those people who need light. I can take a certain amount of dark days. But after awhile they start to get to me, especially if I’m already feeling under the weather.

  3. Winter always makes me lazy and blah because of the cold. I prefer warmth than the other temperature extremes. Isn’t there a new Teen Titans cartoon now? I’ve caught a version where the characters are a lot goofier.

  4. I’m not a fan of the cold weather, Linda, I freeze when it’s in the 70’s. Once we get through January I feel we’re getting closer to spring. Exercising during the winter helps my mood, but there’s nothing better than the warm sun to lighten my mood. You’re flowers are so pretty. My grandmother tried to teach me how to crochet many years ago, I just didn’t have the patience. I hear it’s very relaxing. Hang in there, spring will be here before we know it!

  5. It’s tough to get the mid-winter blahs in Southern California (I’m not trying to rub it in, I promise!), but there are days where nothing seems to click and I don’t know what I should be doing. At that point, usually my “flower” is a good book. I let myself get sucked in and then the crappy day gives way to night and then hopefully the next day is better. 🙂

  6. Because of the short days and general lack of light, I have to be more focused and efficient in terms of my LEGO photography. I just took a bunch of photos making fun of NJ Governor Christie and his various scandals, and there’s nothing like making fun of a powerful bully to chase the blues away. It’s why carnivals take place in the winter months.

    I love your crocheted flowers too. One of them is attached to my cattle rustler’s hat, but I only wear the hat in the summer because the winter wind would blow it away. Besides it has lots of holes, so it really wouldn’t keep my head warm.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  7. I am soooo envious of your talent (well, many of your talents) with these flowers. They are beautiful!! They brightened up my day as well. One thing that lifts my spirits in this miserable season (besides wine) is when I look outside and everything has a white coating on it but you spot that bright red cardinal on the branch and it looks vibrant and royal. 63 days ’till Spring and counting! WE GOT THIS!

  8. After the major snow last week, when I was driving to work one morning–maybe, Wednesday–I saw a sun dog. Now, I did not know that’s what it was at the time. I just saw a little piece of rainbow on either side of the sun. But it was gorgeous and felt like a promise that these winter storms and blahs too will pass. And then someone at work told me about sun dogs, and I got to learn something new.

  9. “Keep Calm and Carry Yarn” is my new favorite saying! It’s so funny that you posted this because I just learned how to crochet! I already knit, but I want to crochet a scarf for a friend. Crochet flowers are next on my list to learn because they’d look great on future knit hats.

Your Turn to Talk

