A Poem

I couldn’t let National Poetry Month without producing at least one poem, one appropriate for today. I didn’t write it this month, however. (Mwwwhahaaaa!) I wrote it for an exercise assigned by the last advisor I worked with in my grad program, Mary Quattlebaum, a prolific author who writes lovely poetry. I . . . well . . . anyway, here in all of its twisted glory, I give you

On a Morning Like This

Alarm’s ringing.
so I’m waking.
Coffee brewing,
breakfast making
Daylight’s leaking,
am I’m grumbling.
Coffee sipping,
thoughts are tumbling.
Now I’m writing,
and I’m struggling
Clauses piling,
words are jumbling.
Bacon’s baking,
but I’m stalling.
Thinking, searching . . .
bacon’s calling.

Bacon-photo-1024x764

There. Aren’t you glad I usually stick to prose? 😉

9 thoughts on “A Poem

  1. Actually I like it! My twelve year old daughter went as far to call it cool!
    Ps if there is any confusion about your ‘following’ notifications- I accidentally unfollowed and then re-followed all in the space of a second. I am such a klutz.

    • Thanks, Andy. And please thank your daughter. I suspect she’s probably a bacon fan–the true draw of that poem. 🙂 Homer Simpson has his donuts. I have bacon.

  2. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this poem. I love the energy of it. The whimsy of it and the truth of it. In that way, I think it did exactly what a poem should do! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Laura! I fell out of the habit of writing poetry after college. But you know Mary. She’s good at challenging you to do what you think you can’t do (or what you tell her you can’t do, but she refuses to listen :-).

  3. Pingback: Don’t (A Poem) | What If It All Means Something

Your Turn to Talk

