A Little Light, Please

Today is cold, gray, and rainy, and my spirits are dampened by recent events in Boston. So my best friend is a warm cup of joe. Well, it will be my best friend until the next sip, and then I will welcome my new best friend—Cup of Joe, Jr.

Ironically, I woke up at two this morning, thinking about prisms. And no, this is not an oblique reference to the “Mostly, Prunes and Prism” chapter in Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens. I assure you, I had no such thought in mind, especially since I just reread American Born Chinese (Gene Luen Yang). No prisms there.

You see, I went to my quarterly SCBWI meeting recently. Our leaders suggested that as we introduce ourselves, we name one thing we like about spring. Three-fourths of the people mentioned “having more daylight.” I mentioned birdsong. Guess I’m silly that way. So perhaps the notion of light entered my head then and stayed.

When I think of light on a rainy day, I think of rainbows. I also think of prisms.
Dispersion_prism

In fifth grade, my teacher passed around an equilateral prism and discussed the refraction and reflection of light and Isaac Newton’s discoveries. I was fascinated by the prism and the rainbows it made. But today, I realize I was fascinated by light and color in general.

On a gray day and in a gray time, a little bit of light is welcome, isn’t it? We all crave light, but not just sunlight. Good news, a good word brings joy and hope to the heart.

We can do that for each other. Words are like flowers you can offer someone to brighten his or her day.

See this?
621840_Purple-Gerbera-Daisy

I can’t help smiling when I see things like this. I hope you do too.

6 thoughts on “A Little Light, Please

  1. I do!
    And nothing silly about birdsong, what a dull, uninspiring world we would have without it. Paul McCartney would never have written Blackbird for a start.
    Out of curiosity- SCBWI?

    • True. Thanks, Andy. And I should have written out SCBWI. It is the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. I’ll add a link to their site.

Your Turn to Talk

