Make It Miyazaki

I love animated films. Those of you who know me know that I’m a fan of the movies of Hayao Miyazaki, the acclaimed writer/director whose films cause many people throughout the world to geek out. (Okay, some of you who know me may not know this.) My first Miyazaki film was the Oscar-winning Spirited Away, after its Stateside release in 2002. After watching it on the big screen and developing an almost stalker-like love for it, I wanted to see what else Miyazaki and his colleagues had to offer. Since then I’ve seen these Miyazaki/Studio Ghibli films:

Castle in the Sky
Porco Rosso
Princess Mononoke
The Castle of Cagliostro (a Miyazaki film, but not a Studio Ghibli film)
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind
The Cat Returns
Kiki’s Delivery Service
My Neighbors the Yamadas
Whisper of the Heart
My Neighbor Totoro
Howl’s Moving Castle
Ponyo
The Secret World of Arietty

Watching a Miyazaki film reminds me of being a kid again on a summer afternoon, lying on my stomach in the grass, my heels clicking behind me, and my face turned skyward. What am I looking at? Clouds. That one over there? Looks like a rabbit. And that one behind it? A wolf chasing the rabbit. Clouds are the canvas of the imagination.

These films also remind me that that cloud-watching kid is still inside. The clouds are now the blank page, and my job is to translate what I see, to take a reader on an adventure as whimsical and wonderful as a Miyazaki film.

So why not try a Miyazaki film, if you haven’t already done so. Make your next moment a Miyazaki moment. Be a cloud-watching kid again.

9 thoughts on “Make It Miyazaki

  1. Pingback: Graham Chills out and Watches “Ponyo” this Morning | Little Blue Nursery

  2. Pingback: Porco Rosso/Kurenai no buta (1992) | timneath

  3. Pingback: The Castle of Cagliostro/Rupan sansei: Kariosutoro no shiro (1979) | timneath

  4. Pingback: The Human Drama | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

  5. Pingback: Laputa: Castle in the Sky/Tenkû no shiro Rapyuta(1986) | timneath

  6. Pingback: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind/Kaze no tani no Naushika (1984) | timneath

  7. Pingback: N Luv 4Evah | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

Your Turn to Talk

