Keeping Up with the Joneses

The phrase keeping up with the Joneses usually means having a lawn or house as nice as your neighbor’s. But for a writer, keeping up with the Joneses can mean having an Internet presence like other writers. Blog, Twitter, Linked-in, Pinterest—whatever.

If you’re like me (and if you are, you have a bag of soy sauce packets from years back and a floor that desperately needs vacuuming), the thought of making your presence known is daunting. I’m almost mole-like when it comes to networking. I even find a dark corner to burrow in when I’m at my own birthday party. But after my younger brother suggested that I blog, and then repeated that suggestion because I still hadn’t done anything a year later, I decided to go for it. This is the fruit of “going for it.” But sometimes I feel like I’m driving a Model T while my neighbors race about in sleek Camaros with their cool widgets, websites, and multiple Tweets.

But that’s okay. As they say, you gotta learn to crawl before you can walk. And since I just figured out how to turn on my webcam, I’m cruising at least. Now if I can figure out when I replaced the filter in my Brita pitcher (having lost the little sticker they give you to note these things), I’d be golden.

One of my classmates from VCFA encouraged me to learn to use this blog better. She’s right. I need to do that. On the flip side, she also suggested that I keep working on my novel. Another great point. And I’ve got to finish crocheting some hats for a birthday party. And there’s another half season of Doctor Who to catch up on. So many activities. So little time.

Doctor-Who-logo-black-background11

Two dreaded words come to mind as I think about how to juggle everything: time management. I have to make time for the necessities. I was never good at budgeting time (or money for that matter). But practice makes perfect as the old saying goes.

So, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to keep this post short. Gotta keep revising my novel and finish my seventh hat. And change the filter on my Brita.

12 thoughts on “Keeping Up with the Joneses

  1. Great blogging start, Linda! (I am not that sure it is your name but the post above makes it so 😉 Yay! Keep it going. I like reading your posts

    • Good point, Lyn. I wasn’t sure which length was appropriate. Then I glanced at the past blogs of a blogger I followed. Some of her blogs from six years ago were about a paragraph long! So I’m glad to see that I have freedom to go shorter on posts.

  2. What a thoughtful post! I say, L. Marie, you are more than keeping up with the Jonses. And who are the Jonses anyway? I look forward to what comes next.

Your Turn to Talk

