Beckon the Lovely

Not long ago, my friend Sharon emailed a link to a TED Talk by author/filmmaker Amy Krouse Rosenthal (see below). You might know this author either from her books (see above) or from her very popular and very heartbreaking New York Times article, “You May Want to Marry My Husband.” (The answer to that is, yes.)

If you have twenty-one minutes to kill, take a look. I highly recommend it. But in case you don’t, I’ll give you the upshot of the video in seven words:

Make the most of your time here.

That was Rosenthal’s motto. Was, because the author recently died from ovarian cancer, which made the video all the more poignant for me. Though this talk was given years ago, I found it very fitting today.

One of the pieces of advice she gives in the video is to “beckon the lovely.”

I don’t know about you, but whenever I hear ugly words, or discover that someone lovely died from an ugly disease, or I hear about the ugly actions of others, my soul craves something lovely.

[W]hatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4:8

I think of flowers and sunsets and clingy baby pandas. My friend Jill emailed this article, which features a video of a clingy baby panda. Perhaps you’ve already seen it. There is a reason why this video has over 160 million views. Lovely sights beckon to us.

Like flowers. Flowers of any sort catch my eye.

   

Photos from a couple of years ago and recently (last photo). Alas, a recent snowstorm killed these sprouts off.

Crocheting also is a way I beckon the lovely. I promised Marie of 1WriteWay that I would post a photo of a jellyfish I crocheted recently for a little boy’s birthday party, thanks to this pattern. I can’t help but smile that the designer chose to make something lovely and cuddly based on the form of a creature with a harmful sting.

When I consider ways to beckon the lovely, I’m reminded of lovely gestures people make. Last week, a colleague came bearing two boxes of Dunkin Donuts Munchkins, which brightened our day.

Speaking of gestures, the lovely Jill Weatherholt is giving away a signed copy of her debut novel, Second Chance Romance. (U.S. only. Sorry.) All you have to do to be considered for the drawing is to comment below. What have you seen recently that you consider lovely? Perhaps you were the one whose lovely gesture made someone’s day. Do tell! Or describe what you plan to do to beckon the lovely this week. The winner will be announced on March 27.

     

Amy Krouse Rosenthal book cover from Goodreads. Second Chance Romance cover from Jill Weatherholt. Dunkin Donuts Munkins from Pinterest. Other photos by L. Marie.

32 thoughts on “Beckon the Lovely

  1. Beautiful post, L. Marie. We can all us a little more lovely in our lives. Yesterday, I saw an American Goldfinch sporting his bright yellow feathers, a sure sign that spring is here. Thanks for sharing Amy’s link. I had an opportunity to watch it over the weekend, it was quite inspirational.

    • I’m so glad you saw it, Jill! And saw that goldfinch! As I type this, I’m hearing geese outside, and the soft tweeting of birds. Yep. Sounds like spring! I’ve missed those sounds!

  2. Why do none of the Dunkin Donuts around here have sprinkle munchkins? That seems like something that every store needs. I keep thinking about that ‘live your life to the fullest’ and wonder how one can pull that off. At least some accommodations have to be made for other people that either depend on you or can’t be gotten rid of. Still, it would be an interesting world if everybody got to live their dream even for a day. People might be happier and who knows how many problems would fade away. Why is it that people feel like the dreams that make them happy should either cast aside?

  3. Lovely post, and I adore the jellyfish! (Not to mention the donut bits – mmm!) I don’t know what lovely thing I turn to – the cats, perhaps, who do tend to get cuddled to within an inch of their little lives when I feel the need for a mood boost. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m glad your cats make themselves available for that. Some friends recently acquired two kittens. When I stop over, usually after a grueling day, someone hands me a kitten without having to ask. My stress instantly decreases. 🙂

  4. Yesterday, I watched otters fishing in the lagoon. Lovely. Later, I saw the wind sweeping sparkles of sunlight across the surface of the water in a un-choreographed dance. Lovely. I read Amy’s article last week. Lovely.

    Today, I am going to play Bridge and hope my cards are Lovely. 😀

    Here’s to looking for the good and making most of the time we have here!

  5. What a cool jellyfish! Love it – and this post.
    First of, you will never guess what I finally picked up last night to read? Yes. “Second Chance Romance” . I am enjoying it and will finish it in a flash. (please do not include me in the drawing).
    I have been spending time stopping by the sloughs near our home and watching all the birds that are migrating. The other day I spotted a Great Blue Heron and had the thrill of watching it spear a fish and proceed to prepare and eat it. It was such an amazing thing to see.
    Thank you, L. Marie – and a special thank you for the verse. I needed it today.

  6. Very touching post. The scripture reference is well placed. We both know He gives ‘beauty for ashes and the oil of joy for mourning’. And gives us gifts to help us work through and ‘beckon the lovely.’
    Your crochet art is so fun (one of your many gifts) – I’m happy mr octopus doesn’t eat dunkin’!
    😉

  7. To be able to seek and find what is lovely around us or in what we are doing make our soul happier .
    Beautiful post with a good philosophy of life , Linda
    Love ❤
    Michel

  8. I like the verse from Philippians. Very good advice.

    I’ve always been a fan of jellyfish. Fortunately I’ve never been stung by one. When we lived in Vanuatu, we went cruising on the same sailing ship several times. Each time on the way back we saw jellyfish at the same point along the way. They were as big as giant floating grapefruits–cheery bobbing yellow, pink, blue, and green translucent orbs in the clear blue ocean. So lovely!

    This week my sister took her three-year-old grandson to the Seattle Aquarium. Even though they had a good view of the giant octopus and the lively, funny sea otters, his favorite animals were the jellyfish.

    • I find it interesting that jellyfish are a favorite of kids. The little boy whose party I’ll attend soon is fascinated by them. One Halloween, he dressed up as a jellyfish. His parents made his costume out of an umbrella. It was adorable!

      They are colorful, so perhaps that is the attraction.

  9. Pingback: Still Beckoning the Lovely | El Space–The Blog of L. Marie

Comments are closed.