Time Waits for No One

I’ve been remiss in saying thank you to Celine Jeanjean for nominating me for this award awhile ago. Thank you, Celine. (Be sure to check out her blog.)

reader-award

I’d also like to thank all of my readers for your continued support of this blog. Thanks for reading and commenting. Starting a blog is always a gamble. There’s no guarantee that anyone will read it one time, let alone more than once. So, thanks for stopping by.

Wondering what finally prompted my long overdue gratitude? You’ve undoubtedly heard about Robin Williams’s recent death. I’ve read many blog posts with eloquent thoughts on this tragic event. I have nothing new to add, though Robin Williams will be missed. But I’m in a pondering mood, nevertheless. This event spurs me to express my thanks for the people in my life who have offered love, support, and friendship over the years. I can’t thank you enough.

Robin

It’s sad that a death is the impetus necessary to spur me to say, “Thanks” or “I love you” or “Here is what I’ve always found delightful about you” to someone else. I’m not proud of this. I can’t help recalling my grandmother’s funeral a few years ago and how I talked to cousins I hadn’t spoken to in years. Years. Was life really that busy that I couldn’t pick up a phone or write a quick email?

It wasn’t.

We always think we’ll have enough time, don’t we, to assure our loved ones of their belovedness. How human of us. If only we would put aside our assumption that we can predict the amount of time we’ll have with each other (i.e., “we have plenty of time”), hence our putting off vocalizing how we feel. If only we would take the time to say what we think doesn’t need to be said, but always needs to be. After all, no one is a mind reader.

valentine-desktop-wallpapers

The people you love the most might need to hear, right now, that you’re grateful they’re in your life. You might think they should know how you feel, because you work hard to give them nice things or you make nice meals or you nag them (for their own good) to be better people. And they are better people—you’ve done your job. Now do them and yourself a favor. Tell them they’re worth all of the nagging and meal making. And maybe they’ll have a gift for you. Maybe they’ll tell you what you mean to them.

But I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that. You already regularly tell others how you feel, don’t you? But for anyone else out there who needs a little reminder, if you saw X-Men: Days of Future Past, you heard this poignant Jim Croce song, “Time in a Bottle.” It’s a reminder about time. (I also thought of the Jacksons’ song, “Time Waits for No One” too, hence the post title.)

I’m off to take my own advice. There are a lot of people in my life who could use a hug or a “thank you” right about now.

Robin Williams photo from fanpop.com. Valentine from heroeswallpapers.com.

16 thoughts on “Time Waits for No One

  1. Excellent advice, Linda. We do put this off far too often. It’s too easy to get caught up in our everyday busyness and let the time go by. Thanks for the reminder–though I’m sorry for the event that prompted it. I’m grateful to you by the way, for your wonderful posts, your generosity, and your support.

    • Thank you, Stephanie. 😀 Glad to help out.

      I wish I were more on time of things like thank yous and such. But I procrastinate far too much.

  2. A saying of my Dad’s was ‘Time and tide wait for no man.”
    I googled it once and discovered though its origin is obscure, it dates back to the 1200’s. I ignore all this though, and attribute it to my Dad. One of his more quotable sayings 🙂

    • That’s a very apt statement, Andy. Glad to hear your dad is like my dad–fond of quoting things. My dad always has an aphorism at the ready. 😀

  3. Thank you for an inspiring and thoughtful blog. You deserve your honors! And thank you for all your support of my blog and your comment on my tribute to Robin Williams. Your message bears repeating.

    • Thanks, Jill. 🙂 And thank you for all you’re doing by turning over your blog to other bloggers. Very kind of you! 🙂

  4. Very well said, my dear. Whether it’s your own death you are forced to think about or somebody else’s, it really does make you stop and reflect. Things we normally complain about really do seem trivial. I’ve been doing a lot of pondering lately as well. 🙂 Sending fluttering butterflies and happy thoughts your way. 🙂

    • Thank you again for those lovely photos! They made my week! The skies here have been so gray. I find myself looking back at those photos for a bit of cheer.

  5. My pleasure on the nomination! It is really well deserved. And thank you for all the support you send out to the blogging community.
    And thank you for that reminder, it’s so true how easily we take those around us for granted. A few words can go a long way and takes so little time.

Comments are closed.